HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > The Rink
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
The Rink For the not so ready for prime-time players, coaches, referees, and the people that have to live with them. Discuss experiences in local leagues, coaching tips, equipment, and training.

back pain while skating

Old
05-04-2007, 09:35 PM
PensBeerGeek

vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to PensBeerGeek Send a message via Yahoo to PensBeerGeek
back pain while skating

I started playing hockey last December (and skating in September). (27 then, 28 now, if it matters) One of the major problems is that my lower back goes out on me when I skate for any length of time.

A game doesn't particularly bother me that much unless doing something like swapping with only one other winger, but in a practice situation, it flares up fairly quickly to the point I can barely stand up straight. The thing is that I sit down and the pain goes away, but once I continue it flares back up. (Ohh, I wear a back brace out on the ice, and while it's helped, it still has a tendency to happen a bit)

Any advice on how I can a) deal with it on the ice when it happens, and b) make this go away?

PensBeerGeek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
05-04-2007, 09:54 PM
frito

Hit the gym and work on your core muscles, abs, side abs and lower back. Your core drives most everything and needs to be strong. Also work on building your leg strength, quads and hamstrings.

Make sure you warm up properly before you hit the ice. If you just jump right on and go at it full speed without warming up you will feel some pain. Make sure you stretch out after skating as well. Tight hamstrings will pull on your back and cause lower back pain.

Good luck.

frito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-04-2007, 09:58 PM
NHL Rules NBA Sux
Watcha gonna do!!!!