HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Eastern Conference > Atlantic Division > Montreal Canadiens
Notices

OT: Ryan Shannon spinorama goal in shootout. GOOD OR NOT?

View Poll Results: Should this goal be allowed or not?
Goal 69 52.67%
No goal 62 47.33%
Voters: 131. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
02-11-2008, 03:28 PM
  #51
Cristobal Huet
Registered User
 
Cristobal Huet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada
Posts: 2,992
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to Cristobal Huet
No goal, I don't care if Khabi was beat, Shannon was in the crease falling on the goalie, it's interference.

Cristobal Huet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 03:30 PM
  #52
Kriss E
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 21,025
vCash: 500
I dont think many of you noticed that Shannon loses the puck and then hits it again...

Kriss E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 04:03 PM
  #53
NORiculous
Registered User
 
NORiculous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,643
vCash: 500
Nice goal.

NORiculous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 04:19 PM
  #54
Whitesnake
Year of the Snake
 
Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lorraine
Country: Canada
Posts: 43,839
vCash: 500
Clearly he touched the goalie before scoring, hence interfering with him. I wouldn't allow it. Do your spinorama all you want but don't touch the goalie.

Whitesnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 05:26 PM
  #55
Kimota
Nation of Poutine
 
Kimota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: La Vieille Capitale
Country: France
Posts: 20,954
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by natey2k4 View Post
Bulin initiated the contact. His skate made contact with Shannon first. Goal. No question in my mind.
No doubt. Goalie initiated it. He touched him first. And then got surprised when Shannon made the turn. That one was a goal. When Bouchard did it against Chicago it wasn't a goal, though it was obstruction.

Kimota is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 05:27 PM
  #56
Kimota
Nation of Poutine
 
Kimota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: La Vieille Capitale
Country: France
Posts: 20,954
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitesnake View Post
Clearly he touched the goalie before scoring, hence interfering with him. I wouldn't allow it. Do your spinorama all you want but don't touch the goalie.
Look at it again. It was the goalie that initiated the contact.

Kimota is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 05:46 PM
  #57
Blue'sClues
Miss you "Beetle"
 
Blue'sClues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Joe's parents house
Country: Canada
Posts: 11,291
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by KostitsyntheBagBaby View Post
Pause it at the right point and you'll see Khabby has his right pad out along the ice to stop it, but the contact with his left leg pushes him out of the way.

No goal!

EDIT:


He clearly goes for the poke check, then manages to get his pad out. His momentum is carrying him forward, not left. I don't understand how anyone can think he was not pushed out of the way.

As Shannon spins, he must hit him and force Khabibulin back, and to the left.
Back, and to the left.
Back, and to the left.

Ladies and gentlemen that is one magic goal.
Agreed!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for the photos!

Blue'sClues is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 08:50 PM
  #58
Ohashi_Jouzu
Registered User
 
Ohashi_Jouzu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Halifax
Country: Japan
Posts: 20,826
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cristobal Huet View Post
No goal, I don't care if Khabi was beat, Shannon was in the crease falling on the goalie, it's interference.
Actually, he slid/fell INTO the crease after tripping over Khabi's pokecheck which HE initiated outside of the crease. Not interference, and I would allow the goal.

Ohashi_Jouzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 08:53 PM
  #59
68
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mount Olympus
Country: Canada
Posts: 6,015
vCash: 500
Ugly and no goal.

68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 08:53 PM
  #60
Le Maroons
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ottawa
Country: Canada
Posts: 2,594
vCash: 500
He's way too close for a "spin-o-rama-lama-ding-dong", he's basically crashing the net, no goal. Shootouts are dumb anyway.

Le Maroons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 08:55 PM
  #61
CPrice
Registered User
 
CPrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,251
vCash: 500
No goal.

CPrice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 08:56 PM
  #62
Ice Poutine
Photoshop Nut
 
Ice Poutine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: ____
Country: Martinique
Posts: 11,388
vCash: 1380
Sgoudnt there be a rule, or does one exist already, that stipulates that a player must maintain a 'forward' movement for the goal to be valid?

This is not a forward movement in my book, its almost interference.

Ice Poutine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 08:58 PM
  #63
Le Maroons
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ottawa
Country: Canada
Posts: 2,594
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by 68 View Post
Ugly and no goal.
Very ugly, that's not a pretty goal. But, now that it's been established that you can do that, more players should do it. Sergei seems to like spinning, and he's a bit of a bugger, put him in the shoot out and tell him to crash the net with a spin-o-rama.

Le Maroons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 09:00 PM
  #64
Le Maroons
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ottawa
Country: Canada
Posts: 2,594
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice Poutine View Post
Sgoudnt there be a rule, or does one exist already, that stipulates that a player must maintain a 'forward' movement for the goal to be valid?

This is not a forward movement in my book, its almost interference.
I believe there is a forward movement rule and he's basically coming in east-west and spins while crashing the net. To me, it can't be a goal. I was watching this game and I was disappointed that they allowed it even though I don't care who wins the game!

Le Maroons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 09:03 PM
  #65
Nashy
The Honey Badger
 
Nashy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toronto
Country: Canada
Posts: 13,438
vCash: 500
Shootouts suck and so does this goal. 100% interference.

Shannon prevents Khabi from coming back across.

Bring back the tie I say...no one should have to lose a hockey game on this kind of play.

Nashy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 09:04 PM
  #66
Ohashi_Jouzu
Registered User
 
Ohashi_Jouzu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Halifax
Country: Japan
Posts: 20,826
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice Poutine View Post
Sgoudnt there be a rule, or does one exist already, that stipulates that a player must maintain a 'forward' movement for the goal to be valid?

This is not a forward movement in my book, its almost interference.
The player's body remains moving forward through the play, and yes, it is a rule that is left to the ref's discretion. Note that the puck does not always have to technically move forward, as some toe drag moves actually cause the puck to go backwards faster than the player is moving forward. Thus, a spinarama is valid (despite the motion of the puck) as long as the player is going forward more or less up to the point of the shot. Again, the ref is allowed some discretion as to whether it is fluid, etc.

Ohashi_Jouzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 09:05 PM
  #67
Ohashi_Jouzu
Registered User
 
Ohashi_Jouzu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Halifax
Country: Japan
Posts: 20,826
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nashy View Post
Shootouts suck and so does this goal. 100% interference.

Shannon prevents Khabi from coming back across.
Bring back the tie I say...no one should have to lose a hockey game on this kind of play.
Khabi prevents Khabi from coming back across. He never got his stick back after the poke check.

Ohashi_Jouzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 09:05 PM
  #68
Tendresse
Capitaine Gorges
 
Tendresse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montréal
Country: Canada
Posts: 923
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nashy View Post
Shootouts suck and so does this goal. 100% interference.

Shannon prevents Khabi from coming back across.

Bring back the tie I say...no one should have to lose a hockey game on this kind of play.
3 on 3 unlimited OT ftw

Tendresse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 09:07 PM
  #69
Nashy
The Honey Badger
 
Nashy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toronto
Country: Canada
Posts: 13,438
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohashi_Jouzu View Post
Khabi prevents Khabi from coming back across. He never got his stick back after the poke check.
Very hard to recover when someone's crashed into you.

Nashy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 09:08 PM
  #70
Ohashi_Jouzu
Registered User
 
Ohashi_Jouzu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Halifax
Country: Japan
Posts: 20,826
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nashy View Post
Very hard to recover when someone's crashed into you.
That's why goalies have to be careful initiating contact outside of the crease. They aren't protected by the rules outside the blue.

Ohashi_Jouzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 09:11 PM
  #71
Nashy
The Honey Badger
 
Nashy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toronto
Country: Canada
Posts: 13,438
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohashi_Jouzu View Post
That's why goalies have to be careful initiating contact outside of the crease. They aren't protected by the rules outside the blue.

Khabi looks to be in his crease when Shannon contacts him.

Nashy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 09:12 PM
  #72
Nashy
The Honey Badger
 
Nashy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toronto
Country: Canada
Posts: 13,438
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dudemain View Post
3 on 3 unlimited OT ftw
I'd take that over shootout....but what was wrong with a tie?

Nashy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 09:14 PM
  #73
Ohashi_Jouzu
Registered User
 
Ohashi_Jouzu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Halifax
Country: Japan
Posts: 20,826
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nashy View Post
Khabi looks to be in his crease when Shannon contacts him.
He may have part of a skate blade in, or so, but the player is definitely outside of the crease when the poke check hits his leg, so fair game. Players are "allowed" to make contact with the goalie as long as they don't skate into the blue area to do it as far as my understanding of the rules go. They don't look at whether the goalie has any part of him in the crease, just whether the skater "crossed the plane" of the blue area. And again, writing it as "Shannon contacts him" is misleading since Khabi initiates the poke check.

Ohashi_Jouzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 09:17 PM
  #74
Ice Poutine
Photoshop Nut
 
Ice Poutine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: ____
Country: Martinique
Posts: 11,388
vCash: 1380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohashi_Jouzu View Post
The player's body remains moving forward through the play, and yes, it is a rule that is left to the ref's discretion. Note that the puck does not always have to technically move forward, as some toe drag moves actually cause the puck to go backwards faster than the player is moving forward. Thus, a spinarama is valid (despite the motion of the puck) as long as the player is going forward more or less up to the point of the shot. Again, the ref is allowed some discretion as to whether it is fluid, etc.
Thanks, i see my memory is still intact, for now.

Ice Poutine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-11-2008, 09:30 PM
  #75
Nashy
The Honey Badger
 
Nashy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toronto
Country: Canada
Posts: 13,438
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohashi_Jouzu View Post
He may have part of a skate blade in, or so, but the player is definitely outside of the crease when the poke check hits his leg, so fair game. Players are "allowed" to make contact with the goalie as long as they don't skate into the blue area to do it as far as my understanding of the rules go. They don't look at whether the goalie has any part of him in the crease, just whether the skater "crossed the plane" of the blue area. And again, writing it as "Shannon contacts him" is misleading since Khabi initiates the poke check.
Your argument is that the goaltender contact is acceptable. I disagree, you cannot hinder the goalie's ability to make a save...which Shannon does. He does a spinaroma into Khabi and takes him out of the play, just because Khabi initiated the poke check, does not allow Shannon to be able to make contact.

Incidental contact maybe, cross body block...no.

Nashy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2014 All Rights Reserved.