HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > The Rink
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
The Rink For the not so ready for prime-time players, coaches, referees, and the people that have to live with them. Discuss experiences in local leagues, coaching tips, equipment, and training.

Becoming a Goalie?

Old
10-29-2008, 12:46 PM
psukan

vCash: 500
Becoming a Goalie?

I play oldtimers and we are always short on goalies. The other day I decided to look into the logistics of becoming a goalie. I looked at a few hockey shops online and on e-bay at equipment and found some solid deals that would work for me. What I am wondering about is if anyone has any advice? I have never used goalie skates before so I am wondering about the transition, is it hard to learn to use goalie skates? What other considerations should I make before becoming a goalie? As for equipment, what are some things I should be looking out for or staying away from? Any info would help me decide. Thanks in advance!

psukan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-29-2008, 12:58 PM
Gunnar Stahl 30
...In The World!

1. figure out your identity, butterfly, standup, hybrid. i recomend a hybrid style because its fun and less strenuous then a pure butterfly.

2. dont buy goalie skates. if you are used to player skates, just use them. if you already bought goalie skates or are going to buy them anyway, know that the ENTIRE blade touces the ice, not just the center like with player skates. the skates should not be sharp. they shouldnt be very very dull but not sharp at all. if you get them sharpened, dull them out on a wooden bench or on the ice.

3. learn to how to use the T slide and when to use it.

4. most importantly, the basics. stick in your five hole, glove up, stay square to the shooter. playing good positionally is the most important part