HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Eastern Conference > Atlantic Division > Montreal Canadiens
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Notices

Habs players (not) respecting the game plan

Old
12-03-2008, 10:51 AM
Newhabfan

vCash: 500
Habs players (not) respecting the game plan

First - I'm not a hockey expert/analyst so I usually try to stay away from technical aspects. However, I listened to Pat Burns this morning on CKAC and I was really surprised. First, let it be known that Burns watched the Trashers game on an official purpose (he had to make a report after for his team).

What he saw was that the Habs played a very strict and solid "trap" during the first 2 periods - he even mentioned Brisebois playing the "dog" at some point - trying to get Atlanta players frustrated and error prone. I never saw that this way - it seemed to me like an offensive 2 period (which shows how much I know about the game ).

Anyway - he said that starting the third period, players went out of the game plan, trying, according to him, to "get on the scoresheet" since it was 3-0 after all. And that Atlanta started to play the "frustrating" style....

Which brought to memory the Detroit game, when the Habs played the same trap game.

Could it be that Carbo's irritation comes out of players not repecting the game plan? From contract year players taking risks in order to get points ? That he designs a defensive game plan and they refuse to put out the effort required ?

And then I heard from other analysts (more or less reliable) that Carbonneau cannot expect to have his offensive minded team playing a defensive trap too often.... Since it would go against their nature...

Thoughts?

Newhabfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-03-2008, 10:54 AM
AH

The team has to learn to crawl before they can walk. He did the same thing last year and then let them loose in the 2nd half.

AH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-03-2008, 10:55 AM
Iwishihadacup