HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > The Rink
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Notices

The Rink For the not so ready for prime-time players, coaches, referees, and the people that have to live with them. Discuss experiences in local leagues, coaching tips, equipment, and training.

Let's say you're god-awful at hockey. What do you do?

Old
01-25-2009, 06:41 AM
octopi

vCash: 844
Let's say you're god-awful at hockey. What do you do?

I'll admit it. I'm not very good at ice hockey, or in my case, shinny. I'm slow. I can't recieve passes. I'm not very agile on blades. I played about 30-50(once 80) times a year in a clinic called "Shinny hockey for beginners, and adding in pickup games. I did this from the ages of 20-28. I'd also play the occasional game of pond hockey, or go to a nearby rink and practice by myself.I don't do either anymore. I love playing hockey like nothing else,but except for the one game of pickup I played on someone's backyard rink, I can't remember playing at all since then.I'm now 35, and would love to go back.My options:

1; Play beginner shinny again. Probably impossible because of my job/other commitments.

2. Play pickup, with all skill levels. This is infuriating, I've found, to the more skilled players(everyone else). I've got horrible co-ordination and can't take a pass in a game, am not as fast as other people and can't cross over well(Spinal curvature really affects this,as it gives me uneven gait, even though its pretty much unnoticable in regular life)

3. Play pickup at outdoor rinks., This is somewhat plausible because young adults occasionally do this, although I'd feel ridiculous playing with some little kids that show up there.i think this ship sailed hen I hit 30, even if I usually look like I'm in my mid-20s.

4. Practice before dawn,or when kids are at school. Maybe not a bad idea, but not safe if I somehow injure myself, Not very challenging either.