HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

is this a good computer?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
01-25-2009, 01:33 PM
  #1
Bench Warmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mass
Posts: 658
vCash: 500
is this a good computer?

I posted before asking what computer would best fit my needs....

this is what i've come up with:

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....rd105700050011


is that a fair deal for that computer? does anyone have anything to say before I go out and drop $ on this?


thank you for your time!

Bench Warmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 02:05 PM
  #2
noobman
Registered User
 
noobman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Country: Canada
Posts: 4,636
vCash: 500
What exactly are your "needs"?

If you're just going on the Internet and using Microsoft Office then virtually any PC will do.

noobman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 02:07 PM
  #3
BadHammy*
MSL For Hart!
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Right Behind Me!
Posts: 10,444
vCash: 500
It's a nice package deal for the price and will be future proof for several years.

BadHammy* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 02:34 PM
  #4
Bench Warmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mass
Posts: 658
vCash: 500
right now I'm on a relatives computer that is barely good for surfing the web..

I plan on buying a computer soon for my new place..

My needs will mainly be

-Word Processing
-Browsing the web
-Downloading alot of music
-Uploading & editing alot of digital images & videos
-Hopefully get into gaming a little bit.



I think that set looks nice.. Just wasn't sure if the price is fair or not.. I haven't bought a computer for my self, so I have no idea about pricing and what not..

I just want a nice looking machine that isn't going to be terribly obsolete in a few months.. I want a lot of space for the music, and images I will be saving. I also want speed.. I don't know much about that package, but it seems good to me!!


Thanks for any advice.. I really appreciate it.

Bench Warmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 04:04 PM
  #5
Puck
Ninja
 
Puck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ottawa
Country: Tahiti
Posts: 8,147
vCash: 500
It's not a rip-off and it's not a sale to rush out for either. You can pick a similar deal next week, don't rush out worried about the 2-day sale event.

The video card is craptastic, as Sined would say....
(the minimum card I would buy to play basic games is the budget ATI 3650, and that's a 3200).

But the monitor and printer thrown in probably makes it a fair deal with the budget PC. But I don't get the future-proof comment above. The PC is very very basic. From the 5 needs stated above, the first 3 are easily met, the fourth is ok unless it's more sophisticated video editing and forget the 5th for most post-2006 games.

Puck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 04:06 PM
  #6
BadHammy*
MSL For Hart!
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Right Behind Me!
Posts: 10,444
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puck View Post
It's not a rip-off and it's not a sale to rush out for either. You can pick a similar deal next week, don't rush out worried about the 2-day sale event.

The video card is craptastic, as Sined would say....
(the minimum card I would buy to play basic games is the budget ATI 3650, and that's a 3200).

But the monitor and printer thrown in probably makes it a fair deal with the budget PC. But I don't get the future-proof comment above. The PC is very very basic. From the 5 needs stated above, the first 3 are easily met, the fourth is ok unless it's more sophisticated video editing and forget the 5th for most post-2006 games.
I just meant the cpu would be future proof

BadHammy* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 04:20 PM
  #7
Puck
Ninja
 
Puck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ottawa
Country: Tahiti
Posts: 8,147
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by fourthliner View Post
I just meant the cpu would be future proof
I just wouldn't be surprised if the stated HD 3200 graphics was on-board video and my instinct would be to tell Bench Warmer to stay away from this deal, in spite of the monitor and printer 'bling' attached to it.

Stay away from cheap video on-board the motherboard. Like the plague.

Puck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 04:31 PM
  #8
guinness
those were the days
 
guinness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clovis, California
Country: United States
Posts: 12,096
vCash: 500
It's fine, especially considering it comes with a 22" LCD and printer.

The HD 3200 should fine for older games, or newer games at lower settings. You won't be rocking GTA IV or Crysis on though, except maybe the lowest settings. Even if the HD 3200 is on-board, it can always be upgraded at some point, by stuffing a better card into the PCIe slot.

guinness is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 04:40 PM
  #9
Puck
Ninja
 
Puck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ottawa
Country: Tahiti
Posts: 8,147
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by guinness View Post
It's fine, especially considering it comes with a 22" LCD and printer.

The HD 3200 should fine for older games, or newer games at lower settings. You won't be rocking GTA IV or Crysis on though, except maybe the lowest settings. Even if the HD 3200 is on-board, it can always be upgraded at some point, by stuffing a better card into the PCIe slot.
I don't think the HD 3200 even comes close to performing like the ATI 2650 or ATI 2900 or even the ATI 1950. The higher number labelling means nothing. I think he's getting laptop on-board video performance here and he better check out if he can upgrade the video later with the PSU they throw in. He won't be rocking on Pac-Man either.

Puck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 04:49 PM
  #10
MikeyMike01*
Hurray
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Long Island
Country: United States
Posts: 6,433
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to MikeyMike01* Send a message via MSN to MikeyMike01*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bench Warmer View Post
-Uploading & editing alot of digital images & videos
-Hopefully get into gaming a little bit.

...I just want a nice looking machine that isn't going to be terribly obsolete in a few months... I also want speed...
Not the computer for you. At all.

MikeyMike01* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 07:13 PM
  #11
Bench Warmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mass
Posts: 658
vCash: 500
Well if its not a good match for me, what would you reccomend..


I'm not a huge gamer, but I'd like to eventually get into it.. I haven't to this point because I've never had a computer that is capable...


It sucks not knowing exactly what to look for.. ugh

Bench Warmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 08:01 PM
  #12
Bench Warmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mass
Posts: 658
vCash: 500
So that computer will be good for now, but the video card needs to be upraded? What would it take to do that??


also, of the 10 sets listed here, which would you reccomend baised on my needs?

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....c=abcat0500000


Thanks again

Bench Warmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 08:19 PM
  #13
guinness
those were the days
 
guinness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clovis, California
Country: United States
Posts: 12,096
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyMike01 View Post
Not the computer for you. At all.
Image and video editing aren't GPU intensive though, heck I do image editing on my Mac and netbook, and both of those have GMA 950's, and only the newest versions of PS support GPU enhancements.

guinness is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 09:13 PM
  #14
Puck
Ninja
 
Puck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ottawa
Country: Tahiti
Posts: 8,147
vCash: 500
Well, if you buy a standalone video card for about $100, your PC is now costing you $920.

I noticed the next step up for a PC was this one, for $1019. But that's $200 more than what you were willing to pay. I think the nVidia 9500GS is on board video too, just a step up from the crappy ATI 3200 so I'm not sure... and you won't need 8 gig of memory. Man, I hate how they put these deals together with the eye-candy parts and crappy parts together. You have to take it all or leave it.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....rd105700050014

p.s. I like this one better though

Puck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 09:28 PM
  #15
Bench Warmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mass
Posts: 658
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puck View Post
Well, if you buy a standalone video card for about $100, your PC is now costing you $920.

I noticed the next step up for a PC was this one, for $1019. But that's $200 more than what you were willing to pay. I think the nVidia 9500GS is on board video too, just a step up from the crappy ATI 3200 so I'm not sure... and you won't need 8 gig of memory. Man, I hate how they put these deals together with the eye-candy parts and crappy parts together. You have to take it all or leave it.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....rd105700050014

p.s. I like this one better though
I was looking at that one too.. Just wasn't sure if I wanted to spend 200$ more.. hmm I'll have to think about it..


anyone else want to chime in?

Bench Warmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 09:30 PM
  #16
SniperHF
Moderator
aufheben's Coyote
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 13,577
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bench Warmer View Post
anyone else want to chime in?
I would pass on the more expensive one. If it is another integrated card you won't notice any real performance increases on anything of value in the gaming arena without a true PCIepxress card. Integrated is integrated.

The Cheaper comp + a real card is a decent option if the PSU can hack it.
Also you must factor in that some of these newer cards are tanks and may or may not fit in your case.

SniperHF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 09:32 PM
  #17
Francesa
Global Moderator
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 171,281
vCash: 500
It's a lot better than my computer , that's for sure.

I'd go for the first computer , pretty good plus less RAM. Don't need 8 gb...lol. Only issue is , there's probably an integrated video card. And integrated video cards work well for some of the old crap I play , but they won't fly for the new games which require Shader 3.0 or fancy advanced jibba jabba.

If you want to try out the new games just add a better card and you'll be fine.

Francesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 09:34 PM
  #18
Bench Warmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mass
Posts: 658
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
I would pass on the more expensive one. If it is another integrated card you won't notice any real performance increases on anything of value in the gaming arena without a true PCIepxress card. Integrated is integrated.

The Cheaper comp + a real card is a decent option if the PSU can hack it.
Also you must factor in that some of these newer cards are tanks and may or may not fit in your case.


agreed.. thats what has got me scratching my head.. buying a computer sucks

Bench Warmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 09:43 PM
  #19
guinness
those were the days
 
guinness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clovis, California
Country: United States
Posts: 12,096
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bench Warmer View Post
agreed.. thats what has got me scratching my head.. buying a computer sucks
You could look into getting a cheaper computer and a console, that's kind of what I did. IMO, the computing power has sort of hit a wall in terms of parallel computing, but I still wanted to play some of the newer games, so I ended up getting a 360, to go along with my dual-core AGP system, although I did finally manage to get my HD 2600 Pro completely working with it today, so I think I will hold out on Windows 7 before complating upgrading for real.

I can do pretty much everything on any of my computers (now 4), but I haven't felt held back by graphics when it comes to image editing at all.

guinness is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 09:48 PM
  #20
SniperHF
Moderator
aufheben's Coyote
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 13,577
vCash: 500
Here is a question for ya. Do you NEED a new 22 inch LCD bundled?
If you don't your options open wider.

SniperHF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 09:51 PM
  #21
Bench Warmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mass
Posts: 658
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
Here is a question for ya. Do you NEED a new 22 inch LCD bundled?
If you don't your options open wider.


I don't really "need" anything.. I just figured I'd save a few bucks with everything bundled.. who knows though..

Bench Warmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 10:07 PM
  #22
Bench Warmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mass
Posts: 658
vCash: 500
So whats the worst thing about the 1st package I was about to buy (HP Phoenix Special Edition a6755y Desktop with AMD Phenom™ X4 9550 Processor, 22" LCD Monitor & 3-in-1 Printer)?


Just a lousy video card...

which may, or may not be upgradeable??

how do I find out if this damn thing can be upgraded? lol

Bench Warmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 10:10 PM
  #23
SniperHF
Moderator
aufheben's Coyote
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 13,577
vCash: 500
I'll check around about the upgrade ability.

EDIT 1:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...870521&lang=en

PSU = 300 Watt, anemic.
Does have available PCIexpressx16


Also I found it cheaper from this site: Never bought from them though
http://dealspl.us/HP-Phoenix-Special...Printer_125315

SniperHF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 10:14 PM
  #24
Bench Warmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mass
Posts: 658
vCash: 500
thanks man.. I dont mean to labor you... i'm just not sure if I understand what you guys are saying..

it's a pretty decent computer, minus a state of the art video card???

I mean I guess I could live without a top of the line card.. i guess it's a bonus if it could be upgraded..


idk, i love computers, but i don't know anything about them.. this has been agrivating, lol.



thanks for your input so far tho.. I really do value it.. thanks

Bench Warmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-25-2009, 10:17 PM
  #25
guinness
those were the days
 
guinness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clovis, California
Country: United States
Posts: 12,096
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bench Warmer View Post
So whats the worst thing about the 1st package I was about to buy (HP Phoenix Special Edition a6755y Desktop with AMD Phenom™ X4 9550 Processor, 22" LCD Monitor & 3-in-1 Printer)?


Just a lousy video card...

which may, or may not be upgradeable??

how do I find out if this damn thing can be upgraded? lol
If it has a a PCIe x16 slot (which I'm 99% sure it would), then it's upgradable, the other consideration, is that OEMs are known to use non-standard, underpowered power supplies. Not all PSUs are created equal either, as I would rather have a very efficient 500W one, than a 600-700+ W one, that just gives off more heat.

guinness is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2014 All Rights Reserved.