Notices

Parise The Devil...

Closed Thread

Old
03-30-2004, 02:33 AM
Wild Bill

vCash: 500
Parise The Devil...

...or a Devil. Good news for Gopher fans.

http://www.newjerseydevils.com/2004/.../site2004.html

Old
03-30-2004, 02:34 AM
thestonedkoala

vCash:
Vanek the Sabre?

Old
03-30-2004, 06:53 AM
ceber

I was surprised that he signed. I was expecting one more season.

The Sabres would be nuts to bring Vanek in, IMO. The guy needs more time.

Old
03-30-2004, 08:10 AM
MN_Gopher

vCash: 2900
What does Vanek need?

Old
03-30-2004, 08:30 AM
ceber

More time!

I think really just for overall conditioning, if nothing else. Maybe some improvement on his work without the puck. His puck skills are surely ready, I'd say. If I had to pick something else I'd ask to see more consistent effort from him, but that's something I don't like to complain about, because it seems awfully tough to judge. Just an opinion though.. I'm no expert!

Old
03-30-2004, 08:51 AM
Surly Furious

vCash: 528
Well, if Vanek needs more work, he'd get more of it in the AHL than in college hockey, if the Sabres deem him unworthy of an NHL spot. He has little to gain staying at the U, now that the three peat is no more

Old
03-30-2004, 07:13 PM
Wild Bill

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bookman
Well, if Vanek needs more work, he'd get more of it in the AHL than in college hockey, if the Sabres deem him unworthy of an NHL spot. He has little to gain staying at the U
I totally agree with this. Thomas has nothing left to prove with the Gophers, except maybe a Hobey, but this is just a footnote in what should be a long, illustrious career. The kid can flat out play. Playing against inferior talent could lead to complacency and regression. I'm sure Buffalo doesn't want this.

IMO He has all the tools and will prove that next year by making the jump to the big show.

Old
03-30-2004, 09:42 PM
DW

Quote:
Playing against inferior talent could lead to complacency and regression