i know that he could have gone to arbitration, etc...but does the fact that he didn't go to arb mean that he certainly signed for more than one year? that was not my understanding, and i have not read otherwise anywhere else.
I thought we weren't supposed to be assuming terms. Why do we have this posted as multiyear without a link?
Just because he didn't go to arbitration? They could just've easily agreed to split the difference in order to miss the acrimony of the hearing.
In a conversation a few weeks ago, when he was invited to the U.S. Olympic team camp in August, Callahan---who earned $600,000 last season, said he didn't anticipate any problems in negotiating a new contract.
Neither did we. Haven't confirmed the numbers yet, but it is believed to be a substantial raise and a multi-year deal.