HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > The Rink
The Rink For the not so ready for prime-time players, coaches, referees, and the people that have to live with them. Discuss experiences in local leagues, coaching tips, equipment, and training.

New to Skating, Outer Arch Pain

Old
09-13-2009, 11:36 AM
sikosmurf

vCash: 500
New to Skating, Outer Arch Pain

Hello everyone. I've recently been trying to get into beer league hockey, but I have had no real skating experience other than roller blading back in middle school (i'm 23 now). Back in May, I decided to take some skating lessons to get me going. I transferred enough knowledge from inline to be able to skate forward and get around, no stopping or backwards though. This apparently qualified me enough to skip beginner lessons and move to intermediate. Long story short the rink only rented figure skates, and after the third lesson, I end and braking my leg when the toe pick caught and falling down weird (low down on my fibula, close to the ankle).

Fast forward to mid august, i was prohibited from skating until after we got married on august 8th (fair enough). So now i'm trying to get back into it, and i decide to use my company's "Health and Wellness fund" of $250 per year worth of sports equipment/gym memberships to buy a new pair of skates.

I went to a local pro shop in a rink, but the person who was fitting me with skates seemed new, and didn't really seem to have any idea what she was doing. I end up getting the Bauer Vapor X:20 and get them heat molded.

So far I've been skating with them 3 times, but these last 2 times, the outer arch of my foot has been killing me, to the point where when i'm ready to go, i'll have to sit there for about 5 minutes after I take my skates off until the pain goes away long enough to get my shoes on.