HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Eastern Conference > Atlantic Division > Detroit Red Wings
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Notices

Fedorov Interview (in Russian)

Old
11-17-2009, 09:06 PM
ESunlin

vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to ESunlin Send a message via Yahoo to ESunlin
Fedorov Interview (in Russian)

I'm studying Russian and doing a presentation on the history of hockey in Russia, and stumbled across this interview.

http://www.hoticemag.ru/special/18/

It's not relevant to my research, but I was interested in what Sergei had to say for himself back in Russia...

The title "Сергей Федоров: Брат решил — я погиб!" is basically Sergei Fedorov: My brother decided I was lost". He did say that if not for his brother, he would be done with hockey right now...

It goes on to talk about his defection and his first years in Detroit. I found it disturbing (but not surprising) that he felt that Russians were blamed for all the wrongs in the team, and when they won "When Detroit won - everybody wins, except us. Russians, of course, mentioned, but - a little, sometimes. But we know, it was all the same. We have been doing their job and were wildly happy when able to finally win this Cup." (Когда «Детройт» выигрывал – выигрывали все, кроме нас. Россиян, конечно, упоминали, но так – понемножку, иногда. Но нам, знаете, было уже все равно. Мы делали свое дело и были дико счастливы, когда сумели, наконец, выиграть этот Кубок.)

He then goes to say that he now understands that Scotty Bowman had "too many" top players, but that North American coaches don't understand that Russians play heart and soul every game.

Do you feel this was the case? Were the Russians unfairly blamed or is Sergei playing a victim?

It's a very interesting read if anyone else here reads Russian or can find a good translation. Good insight and a long interview...