HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > World Junior Championship
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
World Junior Championship Discuss international tournaments such as the World Juniors, Olympic hockey, and Ice Hockey World Championships, as they take place; or discuss past tournaments.

Its against rules to go into crease?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
12-26-2009, 07:10 PM
  #1
Blackhawkswincup
Global Moderator
 
Blackhawkswincup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chicagoland
Country: United States
Posts: 111,589
vCash: 50
Its against rules to go into crease?

In Sweden vs Czech game the play was blown dead because a Swedish player was pushed into crease and the faceoff came out of zone.

The announcers are blabbing about making it against rules in NHL to enter crease

And Tenneby of Sweden got called for a penalty when Czech defender wrapped his arm around him and threw him into the goalie

This is terrible hockey I hope never comes to NHL

Blackhawkswincup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-26-2009, 07:17 PM
  #2
Edler Von Gud
Registered User
 
Edler Von Gud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Victoria
Country: Canada
Posts: 13,337
vCash: 1308
Send a message via MSN to Edler Von Gud
kinda makes me laugh when they call that crease violation when most of the goals scored in these tournies involve atleast one offensive player in the crease.

Edler Von Gud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-27-2009, 04:07 AM
  #3
Sanderson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 4,834
vCash: 500
No, it's not completely forbidden. Though you shouldn't move through the crease on your own. It really depends on the referee. Just yesterday I saw a ref point out to a player while the play was still going on that he was in the crease - that was while he was standing right at the crease with a defenseman next to him - he moved his feet a bit and play went on without stoppage. Other refs stop the play right away or wait till a shot happens, only to stop play then.


IIHF rules allow for a goal to be scored if the forward was pushed into the crease by a defenseman or if a forward is standing in the crease and not interfering with the goalie in any way (that includes interfering with his vision).

Sanderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-27-2009, 03:46 PM
  #4
Wetcoaster
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Out There
Posts: 54,910
vCash: 500
Here are the applicable rules:

470 - DEFINITION OF A GOAL

A goal shall be allowed:
...
4. If a player of the attacking team has been physically interfered with, by the action of any defending player so as to cause him to be in the goal crease when the puck enters the goal net, unless if in the opinion of the Referee, he had sufficient time to get out of the crease,

5. If the puck should become loose in the goal crease and then put into the goal net by the stick of the attacking player,
...
7. If an attacking player being in the goal crease at the moment the puck crosses the goal line and in no way affects the goalkeeper's ability to make a save, unless the cases described in Rule 471.

471 - DISALLOWING A GOAL

a) No goal shall be allowed:
...
4. If an attacking player stands or holds his stick in the goal crease when the puck enters the goal net, unless he has been physically interfered with, by the action of any defending player so as to cause him to be in the goal crease when the puck enters the goal net, unless if in the opinion of the Referee, he had sufficient time to get out of the crease or unless Rule 470 applies.

6. If an attacking player initiates contact with the goalkeeper, incidental or otherwise, while the goalkeeper is in his goal crease and a goal is scored.

7. If an attacking player initiates any contact with the goalkeeper, other than incidental contact, while goalkeeper is outside his goal crease and a goal is scored.

8. Where an attacking player enters or takes a position within the goal crease, so as to obstruct the goalkeeper's vision and impair his ability to defend his goal net and a goal is scored.

Wetcoaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-27-2009, 04:47 PM
  #5
Stripes
 
Stripes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,185
vCash: 500
Under IIHF rules, you cannot stand in the crease on your own accord when the puck is not there. You can skate through it (without interfering with the goaltender obviously), but if you skate into the crease and stay there (even without making contact with the goaltender), play is stopped and the faceoff goes to the neutral zone.

Stripes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.