HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > The Rink
The Rink For the not so ready for prime-time players, coaches, referees, and the people that have to live with them. Discuss experiences in local leagues, coaching tips, equipment, and training.

Good, cheap skates for a beginner

Old
12-27-2009, 10:51 PM
Flyers Fan Forever

vCash: 500
Good, cheap skates for a beginner

Hi, I am an extreme beginner to ice skating, and I'm sick of renting crappy skates from my local ice rink.

I'm looking for a good pair of hockey skates that costs ~$70 or less. I was looking at these, but I have no idea if they're good or not and need some help.

Also, my shoe size is US 13

Flyers Fan Forever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-28-2009, 12:25 AM
vexXed

Check out this link, it will save you a lot of hassle when deciding which skates to get.

http://www99.epinions.com/content_3832651908

vexXed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-28-2009, 12:32 AM
BadHammy*
MSL For Hart!

Another VERY important factor is your weight and leg drive...

BadHammy* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-28-2009, 12:31 PM
raganblink

go to ur lhs and look for discounted skates. that will be your best bet. for instance, you could find an an old se6 from easton relatively cheap, and bauer one35 for cheap. these two skates are a step above the basic rec skate, which will give you actual ankle support. trust me, it will be a ***** if you get those tours or any other skate that is designed around a 50-70 price range, a skate designed for 100-150 that is on sale is going to help you and your feet so much.

raganblink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-28-2009, 01:51 PM
Devil Dancer

You should try skates on before buying, but FYI I loved my entry level Eastons that I got for ~$70.

Devil Dancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-28-2009, 02:16 PM
CanadaBacon