HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > The Business of Hockey
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Notices

The Business of Hockey Discuss the financial and business aspects of the NHL. Topics may include the CBA, work stoppages, broadcast contracts, franchise sales, NHL revenues, relocation and expansion.

Yet another CBA question: 35+ Rule

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
12-29-2009, 03:48 PM
  #1
Fourier
Registered User
 
Fourier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waterloo Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 11,470
vCash: 500
Yet another CBA question: 35+ Rule

This question has to due with the 35+ rule and how it applies if a player in the first year of a multi-year SPC retires due to an injury. The specific case being considered is Nikolai Khabibulin who may possibly need back surgery. There are many on the Oiler board who believe that by retiring in the first year of the SPC he would prevent the Oilers from having to carry the cap hit for years 2-4 of his contract.

Personally, I do not believe this to be the case, despite some rather ambiguous wording in the CBA. mouser has previously weighed in on the same side. Any comments from the learned masses would be greatly appreciated.

Fourier is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
12-30-2009, 01:14 AM
  #2
Noldo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,240
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBA Article 50.2 (c) iv
All player Salary and Bonuses earned in League Year by a Player who is in the second or later year of multi-year SPC which was signed when the Player was age 35 or older (as of June 30 prior to the League Year in which the SPC is to be effective), regardless of whether, or where, the Player is playing...
I would interpret the provisions that if player retires during the first year of multi-year SPC, the first year is not subject to the restriction and team would therefore be off the hook for the cap hit for that year, but irrespective of the timing of the retirement, the subsequent years would still count against cap.

Noldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-01-2010, 08:31 PM
  #3
kdb209
Global Moderator
 
kdb209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,140
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noldo View Post
I would interpret the provisions that if player retires during the first year of multi-year SPC, the first year is not subject to the restriction and team would therefore be off the hook for the cap hit for that year, but irrespective of the timing of the retirement, the subsequent years would still count against cap.
That is my interpretstion as well.

kdb209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-02-2010, 01:07 PM
  #4
Fourier
Registered User
 
Fourier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waterloo Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 11,470
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdb209 View Post
That is my interpretstion as well.
Well, it appears that all the great minds think alike.

Fourier is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2016 All Rights Reserved.