Going back to Marleau tossing his stick to Boyle last night, What is the time limit for a penalty to be waved off by a goal?
If there is a penalty, and the team scored anyways, I thought the penalty was waved off. I know it happened quick, but the throwing of the stick happened, and then they scored, but Marleau still served his penalty after that which resulted in another goal. Is it a judgment call by the official?
Thornton was still in the box during that penalty if I recall correctly, therefore the scoring ended the penalty on Thornton and then Marleau's penalty started. If the Kings had not scored, it would have been a 5 on 3 for roughly 20 seconds.
The limit is set by the previous penalty. If a team is shorthanded and commits an infraction followed by a goal being scored, the second penalty is enforced. By that logic, the time limit could be as much as five minutes on a major infraction. Effectively it is the no mercy rule on previous infractions. It happened in another non-Sharks game within the last week.