HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Western Conference > Pacific Division > Los Angeles Kings
Notices

Hockey History in Canadian-American Relations

Old
02-03-2010, 02:37 PM
Chazz Reinhold

vCash: 500
Hockey History in Canadian-American Relations

I posted this in the history of hockey section, but I was hoping to get some input from my fellow Kings fans here:

I am currently a MA student in US History, and this semester I am taking a class on Canadian-American relations. Our end-of-the-semester project requires us to do some research on a historical topic of our choosing, and I feel this is the perfect opportunity to do something on hockey. However, I can't think of a specific topic or incident that involves both countries. That's where I'm hoping some people here can help. What's a good topic that involves hockey and Canadian-American relations? It doesn't have to involve diplomats and politicians; a cultural history is more than acceptable.

The premise the professor provides is pretty simple:

"Write a 15-20 page essay that analyzes the historical interpretations of a major event or issue in Canadian-American relations."

Anyone have any good ideas? Preferably one that will have a good amount of primary and secondary sources from both sides of the border.

Chazz Reinhold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-03-2010, 02:45 PM
Quattro

2002 Olympics?

Quattro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-03-2010, 02:53 PM
Willard
Kings All The Way

1924 formation of the Boston Bruins as the first non-Canadian team in the NHL.

Willard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-03-2010, 07:08 PM
Chazz Reinhold

Nice! Those are both really good ideas. I'm meeting with my professor tomorrow to discuss topics so I'll bring those up and see what he thinks.

Old
02-03-2010, 10:24 PM
THEKingsFanInRI
This must be a dream

the 1996 World Cup of Hockey might also make an interesting study.

What school are you attending?

THEKingsFanInRI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old