HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Western Conference > Pacific Division > Edmonton Oilers
Notices

Renting Out A Room.

Old
02-19-2010, 11:39 PM
OneSharpMarble

vCash: 500
Renting Out A Room.

Hello I purchased a home with several rooms and intend on renting out rooms to friends and possibly strangers. Now this is my first time doing it so I want to make sure I atleast get some info and possibly stories that I can learn from.

I have rented rooms out myself before and have always tried to be a good tenant by paying rent on time, not doing damage etc but I am fully going into this expecting to get a few bad apples.

I understand that I need a damage deposit, and references but I don't really know all of my rights and the renters rights.

For instance say the renter is late on rent and probably will not be paying, can I call up the cops and get them removed or do I give them a time frame? I would be paranoid about having someone I am evicting in my home for several weeks.

Should I sign a lease or just go month to month?

Any tips/stories would be of great help. Thanks.

Also do you find you have had more problems with men or women?

OneSharpMarble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2010, 12:30 AM
Real_Estate-Agent

If you had used me as the agent to buy that property - I would have introduced you to friends - some who rent out "by the room"...

My wife & I have tenants in the house we live in - years of experience of learning the tricks of the trade....

Good luck - hope it works out for you....

Real_Estate-Agent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2010, 12:38 AM
jumptheshark
Give the dog a bone

if you want long term house mates do it my the year--if you want short term by the month

but make sure you interview the person properly--the worst mistake you can do is rent to a person (like me--saving you all from saying it) and coming home, finding your wife knocked up and your house empty

jumptheshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2010, 12:53 AM