HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Eastern Conference > Atlantic Division > Toronto Maple Leafs
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Notices

Flyers Knew Belfour was a sieve up top!

Closed Thread

Old
05-06-2004, 11:03 PM
mikef1010

vCash: 500
Flyers Knew Belfour was a sieve up top!

I think the Flyers did a very good job of scouting out Belfour. Hitchcock coached him and Roenick played with him.

Think back to the Ottawa series. They rarely got the puck up high and when they did, many went in.

When ESPN interviewed Recci before the series he mentioned that the Eagle was great along the ice but had weak spots. They knew Eddie was weak up high.

For gods sake he was on his knees when Roenick let that shot go.

The Flyers figued this out and other that 2 or 3 goals all were shot high.

Oh well, maybe next year.

Ouch, I have been saying that for 37 years.

mikef1010

Old
05-06-2004, 11:12 PM
John Flyers Fan

In the NHL today 95% of all goalies play the butterfly, which means they're better down low than they are upstairs.

Also no matter how good any goalie is, if a shooter makes a perfect shot, no goalie is going to make the save.

In game 6 both somik and Roenick ripped perfect shots into the top corner. If you're looking to assign blame on the goals it wasn't Belfour.

Goal 1 - Somik - Blame Nieuwendyk
Goals 2 & 3 - Roenick - Blame Leetch

Old
05-06-2004, 11:46 PM
mikef1010

I'm just saying Belfour goes down sooner than others. He was on his knees when that puck left Roenicks stick.

Don't get me wrong, I'm glad we have the Eagle, (I wonder if he wants to come back?) but all year my son and I have watched how much Eddie hits the ice. He is weak up top and I can't believe the Sens did not know this.

I think the Flyers won because they just knew where to put the puck (plus they are a better team overall).

Not all so called butterfly goalies are weak up top.

N.B. I love your avatar!!!

Old
05-06-2004, 11:48 PM