HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

Concerned about potential virus... Any helpers?

Old
05-11-2010, 09:19 PM
HemskyToHall*

vCash: 500
Concerned about potential virus... Any helpers?

Hey HF, I opened up this email and it had shown my IP address and I am concerned it will hack my computer somehow.

I immediately deleted that hotmail account, what else can I do?

I'm not good at all with computers btw.

HemskyToHall* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-11-2010, 09:22 PM
DrFeelgood
Chairman Meow

Quote:
Originally Posted by HockeyPwnsSoccer View Post
Hey HF, I opened up this email and it had shown my IP address and I am concerned it will hack my computer somehow.

I immediately deleted that hotmail account, what else can I do?

I'm not good at all with computers btw.
While knowing your IP address does make you somewhat vulnerable, it doesn't necessarily mean you have a virus. Finding your IP is actually really easy, you can just go to http://www.whatismyip.com and it will tell you on the front page.

I'm guessing the email just had an HTML script in it that sniffed your IP. If you are behind a firewall or a router/switch (which is essentially a hardware firewall) you should be fine.

DrFeelgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-11-2010, 09:26 PM
HemskyToHall*

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFeelgood View Post
While knowing your IP address does make you somewhat vulnerable, it doesn't necessarily mean you have a virus. Finding your IP is actually really easy, you can just go to http://www.whatismyip.com and it will tell you on the front page.

I'm guessing the email just had an HTML script in it that sniffed your IP. If you are behind a firewall or a router/switch (which is essentially a hardware firewall) you should be fine.