HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

External Hard Drive malfunction

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
05-18-2010, 02:42 PM
  #1
The Kingslayer
Registered User
 
The Kingslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Yuck horse piss!
Country: Cambodia
Posts: 21,681
vCash: 291
External Hard Drive malfunction

I have a 1 Tb Lacie external hard drive thats acting up. Not sure whats wrong with it just that when I plug it in it doesnt show up in 'My Computers'. When I turn it on it makes a few clickin sounds then just stops and nothing happens. Is there any way of fixing this?

The Kingslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-18-2010, 02:48 PM
  #2
DrFeelgood
Chairman Meow
 
DrFeelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Redwood City, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 18,360
vCash: 500
I'm no hard drive expert, but clicking noises from your hard drive is never a good thing.

To me, it sounds like your hard drive is close to dying, if it didn't already.

DrFeelgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-18-2010, 03:00 PM
  #3
Scooter13z
Registered User
 
Scooter13z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sec. 324 Row 3
Country: United States
Posts: 691
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to Scooter13z
Sounds like a mechanical failure within the hard drive which means its either on it's way out or already dead. Whenever I have that problem, freezing the hard drive seems to work (not all the time, but it will get it back up and running for a few minutes in some cases). What I would do is put the drive in a plastic, zip-lock bag (and an anti-static bag if you have one). Then put it in the freezer overnight. In the morning, take it out and plug it in to the computer and get the information off asap.

I've only done this with internal hard drives so you may need to take it out of the enclosure, not sure. I know it sounds crazy but it does work. Google "freeze hard drive".

Scooter13z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-19-2010, 12:22 AM
  #4
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,741
vCash: 500
you could try opening up its enclosure and making sure that its connections are secure ...but it sounds like the hdd is on its way out.

back up any data you need off it (if possible) and get yourself another one.

Zodiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.