HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

Smash Brawl can make older wii's stop working?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
06-05-2010, 10:14 AM
  #1
neofury*
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal, PQ
Country: Canada
Posts: 20,277
vCash: 500
Smash Brawl can make older wii's stop working?

http://www.destructoid.com/super-sma....phtml#comment

I know it's dated 2008.

My friend owns the game and his Wii stopped working, I got the game myself and the wii stopped working too! All other games were working fine prior to inserting smash brawl into the wii consoles.

Has anyone else who has played this game had to replace their wii or is this just a rare problem with the dvd drives? I've read nintendo says they clean the drive and send it back, but why would they do that when a cleaning kit could easily be sent instead? Also it doesn't play any games except 2 gc games I have, which I find to be weird. (I lent my friend the 2 games to check if those games magically work for him as well)

Oh and the weirdest part, my friends wii is only like 25 days old.

Funny thing is, we can play soul cal 2 or melee for gc on my wii for hours, but insert the new smb, or any of the other 6 wii games I have, the following happens:

Console freezes at the "click A" screen.
Console freezes at the loading disc part.
Console manages to load disc but freezes upon starting game.

That pretty much sums it up. I haven't heard of people having problems with their wiis ever except for myself and my friend who both happen to play brawl. (But where my wii is older, his is less than a month old, we haven't checked the models but his wii came with all the same stuff mine did, it isn't one of the new black ones etc)

My friend bought the console at bestbuy, he's going to replace it sometime today and try plugging Brawl into the new one and see what happens.

Apparently it's a dual layer game and it wears the laser out on some small % of wii consoles. (defective drive?)

neofury* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
06-05-2010, 02:21 PM
  #2
Sensfanman
Registered User
 
Sensfanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Country: Canada
Posts: 10,181
vCash: 500
Mine is as old as it gets (well, like under a month after the original release). It's modded but never any problem like that, even with Brawl.

Sensfanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
06-05-2010, 02:56 PM
  #3
Crusty Quinn
Registered User
 
Crusty Quinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Edmonton
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,139
vCash: 500
My Wii is pretty old (2 months after launch) and I haven't had this problem.

Crusty Quinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
06-05-2010, 03:08 PM
  #4
sandman441
Registered User
 
sandman441's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ALASKA
Country: United States
Posts: 6,386
vCash: 500
Send a message via Yahoo to sandman441
haven't played this game but I had the same problem with mario kart. I got mine a month or two after launch. But I just got pissed off one day and left it for about 10 minutes and it worked and it worked fine after that.

sandman441 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
06-05-2010, 04:08 PM
  #5
MayDay
Registered User
 
MayDay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Mount Kisco, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 9,430
vCash: 500
I got my Wii two months after launch (January '07).

Never had a problem running any game, including Brawl.

Have you tried upgrading the firmware with the latest system upgrade?

MayDay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
06-05-2010, 04:59 PM
  #6
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,718
vCash: 500
i didn't bother reading your linked article, but i remember reading something about Brawl being problematic in the past.

i think it had something to do with the disc being dual layer and the wii's drive not being great at reading dual layer discs. i also remember reading that Nintendo offered to fix any affected systems for free.

Zodiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
06-06-2010, 02:56 PM
  #7
neofury*
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal, PQ
Country: Canada
Posts: 20,277
vCash: 500
Yeah in the end my friend brought his wii back and got a new one and hasn't had the same problem. I'm going to have to call nintendo I guess, though I'm told if I tell them the wii crapped out while playing SSBB they will replace it.

neofury* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
06-08-2010, 08:49 AM
  #8
ngc_5128
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 598
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by MayDay View Post
I got my Wii two months after launch (January '07).

Never had a problem running any game, including Brawl.

Have you tried upgrading the firmware with the latest system upgrade?
I got my Wii around the same time. I bought Brawl the day it came out and it broke my machine. Apparently, some of the Wiis they shipped out had different DVD drives due to a parts shortage and the different drives didn't read the brawl disc because it had some different kind of technology, or something along those lines (I don't remember 100% what the rep on the phone told me). I sent them my Wii, they replaced the drive and sent it back.

ngc_5128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
06-08-2010, 09:44 AM
  #9
Bring_Bak_Damphousse
Classless User
 
Bring_Bak_Damphousse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Canada
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,249
vCash: 500
I won a wii at a wedding social a few months after they came out, never had any problems after playing brawl

Bring_Bak_Damphousse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
06-08-2010, 10:56 AM
  #10
neofury*
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal, PQ
Country: Canada
Posts: 20,277
vCash: 500
Lmao OK guys, wanna return an old ****ed wii? Tell nintendo Brawl ****ed it.

Getting a new wii

Oh by the way my friend has a new Wii and it doesn't crap out at all now, he's played the **** out of it already.

neofury* is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.