HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Eastern Conference > Metropolitan Division > New Jersey Devils
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Notices

Full 2010-2011 local TV schedule

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
09-22-2010, 09:21 PM
  #26
PacManNJD
Let's get clever.
 
PacManNJD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: North Jersey
Country: United States
Posts: 18,641
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Korean Devil 23 View Post
I can't turn MSG+2 into HD. How do you do that?
I've heard that it's possible to turn on the MSG (Rangers) feed and use the SAP button to listen to Doc and Chico...

I know it's possible when Sabres games conflict with the NYC-Area teams Upstate... Not sure if it'll work between conflicting games down here, though.

PacManNJD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-22-2010, 09:24 PM
  #27
DevilzFan
PS3 GM Conn. Oilers
 
DevilzFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Jersey
Posts: 1,285
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to DevilzFan
*edit* nevermind

DevilzFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-22-2010, 09:29 PM
  #28
MJB Devils23*
No lockout!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Jersey
Country: United States
Posts: 37,006
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilzrule27 View Post
tis what happens when you have 5 teams sharing 3 channels.
How come the Rags or Knicks don't use wpix11 more often? And YES is completely independent of the MSG networks, so it's really 4 teams sharing 2 channels.

What sucks is if the Nets ever get good again, and viewers start viewing their games on a more regular basis, they have to deal with the Yankees. Whenever the Nets and Yankees play on the same night, the Nets get screwed over.

MJB Devils23* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-22-2010, 09:32 PM
  #29
MJB Devils23*
No lockout!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Jersey
Country: United States
Posts: 37,006
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacmanghostx View Post
I've heard that it's possible to turn on the MSG (Rangers) feed and use the SAP button to listen to Doc and Chico...

I know it's possible when Sabres games conflict with the NYC-Area teams Upstate... Not sure if it'll work between conflicting games down here, though.
I have never once ever found an SAP button on any of my TV's. No lie.

MJB Devils23* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-22-2010, 09:34 PM
  #30
BenedictGomez
1995/2000/2003
 
BenedictGomez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: PRNJ
Country: United States
Posts: 26,417
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by DevilzFan View Post
Yep. 12 games on MSG+2 which is a non-hd channel.
That sucks, especially given how low-quality their SD feed is. Honestly, that's more of an issue to me, the fact that it makes the game virtually unwatchable given how grainy and poor their SD is.

Oh well, if I look at games I'll miss on Christmas vacation + games I know I'll be attending, I've got it down to just 6 or 7.

BenedictGomez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-22-2010, 09:44 PM
  #31
TheUnseenHand
Hashbrown Selfie
 
TheUnseenHand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Appleton, WI
Country: United States
Posts: 16,554
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by DevilzFan View Post
Yep. 12 games on MSG+2 which is a non-hd channel.
Same initial thought I had.

TheUnseenHand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-22-2010, 10:08 PM
  #32
Marv4Life
Worth billions...
 
Marv4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SEPA
Country: United States
Posts: 2,950
vCash: 500
Who cares if it's HD or not. As long as you're able to watch it...

Marv4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-22-2010, 10:31 PM
  #33
TheUnseenHand
Hashbrown Selfie
 
TheUnseenHand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Appleton, WI
Country: United States
Posts: 16,554
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marv4Life View Post
Who cares if it's HD or not. As long as you're able to watch it...
Because 1. SD looks worse than SD on an HD TV and 2. when you live out of the area and have to pay for Center Ice just to get the Devils games in the first place, then pay extra for HD, you knida expect to get every game in HD.

TheUnseenHand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-23-2010, 05:45 AM
  #34
njdevsfn95
Help Vas, Sprite.
 
njdevsfn95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Country: United States
Posts: 29,421
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Korean Devil 23 View Post
I can't turn MSG+2 into HD. How do you do that?
i'm talking from the Cablevision POV. The Devils game will be shot with HD cameras but they just won't make the feed available.

so ****ing dumb. when you pay over 3 figures a month for cable, you should be able to choose what channels you want.

njdevsfn95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-23-2010, 09:02 AM
  #35
BenedictGomez
1995/2000/2003
 
BenedictGomez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: PRNJ
Country: United States
Posts: 26,417
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by njdevsfn95 View Post
i'm talking from the Cablevision POV. The Devils game will be shot with HD cameras but they just won't make the feed available.

so ****ing dumb. when you pay over 3 figures a month for cable, you should be able to choose what channels you want.
You know this 100%?

BenedictGomez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-23-2010, 12:42 PM
  #36
Eric Sachs
Registered User
 
Eric Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Country: Japan
Posts: 14,892
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Korean Devil 23 View Post
How come the Rags or Knicks don't use wpix11 more often? And YES is completely independent of the MSG networks, so it's really 4 teams sharing 2 channels.

What sucks is if the Nets ever get good again, and viewers start viewing their games on a more regular basis, they have to deal with the Yankees. Whenever the Nets and Yankees play on the same night, the Nets get screwed over.
? there are 3 MSG channels and 5 teams. Red Bulls play during hockey season, Isles, Rags, Devs, and Knicks. All 3 teams share the same network.

And the YES network now has an overflow channel which i'm fairly certain is in HD, I could be wrong.

Eric Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-23-2010, 12:44 PM
  #37
Eric Sachs
Registered User
 
Eric Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Country: Japan
Posts: 14,892
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenedictGomez View Post
You know this 100%?
I'm not sure about that. Being that I don't get MSG in HD I can tell you that I still saw the "basement cam" come out in a few games.

Eric Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-23-2010, 12:45 PM
  #38
MJB Devils23*
No lockout!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Jersey
Country: United States
Posts: 37,006
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheUnseenHand View Post
Because 1. SD looks worse than SD on an HD TV and 2. when you live out of the area and have to pay for Center Ice just to get the Devils games in the first place, then pay extra for HD, you knida expect to get every game in HD.
SD on an SD channel looks fine. But SD on an HD tv, not so much.

MJB Devils23* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-23-2010, 12:50 PM
  #39
MJB Devils23*
No lockout!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Jersey
Country: United States
Posts: 37,006
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by njdevsfn95 View Post
i'm talking from the Cablevision POV. The Devils game will be shot with HD cameras but they just won't make the feed available.

so ****ing dumb. when you pay over 3 figures a month for cable, you should be able to choose what channels you want.
Oh. But doesn't it cost more for them to broadcast in HD? I remember in 07-08, whenever the Devils, Isles and Rags played against each other, only the home team got to watch in HD. If The Devs and Rags played, and the Rags were the home team, they get it in HD, while the Devils were aired in SD even on the HD channel.

What's sad is that I have a channel that's labeled as MSG+2HD, but nothing is ever aired on it. At least you'd think they could use the HD channel, while still keeping it in SD. That's when you get the pillar box. That is a clearer pic than watching a SD channel on an HD TV.

MJB Devils23* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-23-2010, 12:52 PM
  #40
MJB Devils23*
No lockout!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Jersey
Country: United States
Posts: 37,006
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilzrule27 View Post
? there are 3 MSG channels and 5 teams. Red Bulls play during hockey season, Isles, Rags, Devs, and Knicks. All 3 teams share the same network.

And the YES network now has an overflow channel which i'm fairly certain is in HD, I could be wrong.
How is there 3 MSG channels? I don't count MSG+2 and MSG2 as part of the MSG network.

MJB Devils23* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-23-2010, 01:30 PM
  #41
onefatsurfer
I speak in code
 
onefatsurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jersey Shore
Country: United States
Posts: 9,211
vCash: 500
i sent my annual email complaining about there not being another HD channel for the devils games. this won't get us anywhere until they're forced to sell the HD feed to verizon. then, when there's actual competition, they'll put up an extra HD overflow channel.

onefatsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-23-2010, 04:20 PM
  #42
njdevsfn95
Help Vas, Sprite.
 
njdevsfn95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Country: United States
Posts: 29,421
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenedictGomez View Post
You know this 100%?
see below

Quote:
Originally Posted by Korean Devil 23 View Post
Oh. But doesn't it cost more for them to broadcast in HD? I remember in 07-08, whenever the Devils, Isles and Rags played against each other, only the home team got to watch in HD. If The Devs and Rags played, and the Rags were the home team, they get it in HD, while the Devils were aired in SD even on the HD channel.
We have a game against the Rangers that will not be in HD. This makes no sense when you know the Rangers feed will be in HD and the same cameras will be used.

njdevsfn95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-23-2010, 04:32 PM
  #43
BenedictGomez
1995/2000/2003
 
BenedictGomez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: PRNJ
Country: United States
Posts: 26,417
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by njdevsfn95 View Post
see below


We have a game against the Rangers that will not be in HD. This makes no sense when you know the Rangers feed will be in HD and the same cameras will be used.
That's the part I'm questioning whether you're 100% about. It used to be a few years back that there was a genuine lack of cameras and they'd move the technology around. Now I imagine you're right, but I wanted to know for sure.

BenedictGomez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2014 All Rights Reserved.