HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Western Conference > Central Division > Nashville Predators
Notices

OT: Center Ice

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
10-07-2010, 06:32 PM
  #1
predfan24
Registered User
 
predfan24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,114
vCash: 500
OT: Center Ice

Anyone else around the Nashville area and surrounding counties that use Comcast not getting the free preview? I swear I have problems with Center Ice and Comcast every single year.

predfan24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-07-2010, 08:25 PM
  #2
Adz
Registered User
 
Adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hermitage TN
Country: United States
Posts: 1,213
vCash: 500
I just checked. Mine isn't coming in either. Supposed to be on 773 and 774 right now and it has the "PPV" message.

Adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-08-2010, 11:42 AM
  #3
jstreet
Registered User
 
jstreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: smashville
Country: United States
Posts: 7,655
vCash: 50
I watched Calgary-Edmonton last night with no problems.

jstreet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-08-2010, 11:55 AM
  #4
Adz
Registered User
 
Adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hermitage TN
Country: United States
Posts: 1,213
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstreet View Post
I watched Calgary-Edmonton last night with no problems.

Are you on Comcast? Are you in Nashville?

If so, that's very odd.

Adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-08-2010, 12:10 PM
  #5
Joe T Choker
Roll Wide Roll
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Country: Italy
Posts: 23,192
vCash: 500
must call those sons of ******* today

Joe T Choker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-08-2010, 12:14 PM
  #6
ZombPred
ALLeyeDOizWHEN!
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Tennessee
Country: Hungary
Posts: 1,036
vCash: 500
I also just checked and it states "sports package, for ordering call."

Whats up Comcast?

ZombPred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-09-2010, 09:11 AM
  #7
hockey_socks
Registered User
 
hockey_socks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: H*llmouth South
Country: United States
Posts: 56
vCash: 500
I called Comcast in Memphis last night to find out if they're participating in the free preview. They don't seem to be per their rep or they just don't have that info for their customer service reps. In any case, it's not turned on. I get the same "call to order" message on the screen as you guys have.

I've found it's just easier to contact Center Ice/the NHL directly when I have a question or problem with the TV package. Comcast just doesn't respond to customers unless there's a mountain of folks complaining at the same time.

Since the Center Ice e-mail addy bounced my note this morning, I went here: http://www.nhl.com/ice/feedback.htm <-- Choose "NHL Center Ice" and ask them if the free preview should be on in your area.

hockey_socks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-09-2010, 09:50 AM
  #8
trevorbird
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tennessee
Country: United States
Posts: 123
vCash: 500
Man...been dealing with Comcast in Memphis the last 30 minutes. They were telling me I need to upgrade to a different "level" of programming when I already get every HD channel and probably half of the useless digital channels. Plus that stupid sports pack they have. All they did was give me the sports pack for free. Nothing about the Center Ice preview. I'm buying it next month anyway, but it may be with Directv. I've never heard of saying "you need to upgrade to get the free preview!" This would make sense if I was on basic cable or something, but good grief...

trevorbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-09-2010, 10:32 AM
  #9
Joe T Choker
Roll Wide Roll
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Country: Italy
Posts: 23,192
vCash: 500
was able to watch free preview yesterday ... woot

Joe T Choker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-09-2010, 04:51 PM
  #10
hockey_socks
Registered User
 
hockey_socks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: H*llmouth South
Country: United States
Posts: 56
vCash: 500
I think I found out why the free preview is unavailable in Mumphus.

I just called to actually order Center Ice as I had planned this weekend -- the sales dept told me I can't until Monday because they "have had trouble entering it into the system." Really? They waited this long to enter it? Really?

It's really no wonder that they won the Golden Poo Award for 2010: http://consumerist.com/2010/04/congr...n-america.html

Hahaha...

hockey_socks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-09-2010, 09:56 PM
  #11
101st_fan
I taught Yoda
 
101st_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Some Army fort
Country: United States
Posts: 5,459
vCash: 500
DirecTV ... auto-renew .... happiness

101st_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-10-2010, 09:05 AM
  #12
Dodgie
Registered User
 
Dodgie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tennessee
Country: United States
Posts: 172
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by 101st_fan View Post
DirecTV ... auto-renew .... happiness


Although, I do have a question that maybe someone can answer. (just curious).
Sportsouth had the Thrashers/Capitals game blacked out on Friday night. Of course, I received the Caps broadcast but why would they blackout the Atlanta feed? I'm not in either team's viewing area, and SS is part of my DirecTV package.(as well as CI) As soon as the game was over, I got the Thrashers post-game show. Just wondering?

Dodgie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-10-2010, 09:54 AM
  #13
codeyh
HFB Partner
 
codeyh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cellblock 303
Country: United States
Posts: 462
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to codeyh
Was it blacked out on SS or just CI?

and 101st, I agree, auto-renew = happiness.

codeyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-10-2010, 10:04 AM
  #14
Dodgie
Registered User
 
Dodgie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tennessee
Country: United States
Posts: 172
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by codeyh View Post
Was it blacked out on SS or just CI?

and 101st, I agree, auto-renew = happiness.
Both, I couldn't get it at all. That's why it was kinda weird. It's not a big deal since I got the Caps feed but sometimes I like to choose my announcers.

Dodgie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-10-2010, 10:50 AM
  #15
hockey_socks
Registered User
 
hockey_socks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: H*llmouth South
Country: United States
Posts: 56
vCash: 500
The live Thrashers games are always either blacked out or "covered up" with other programming for me here in Mumphus on Comcast. The re-broadcast of the game later is not. Dunno why.

As for DirectTV...we've had our intarwebs with Comcast, too, so we've stuck with the package thus far. Where we used to live we couldn't get a good angle with a dish off our place because of trees. But the house we live in now has a dish on the roof already aimed and a DSL jack already set up. It's only a phone call away to drop Comcast's fannies if they give me much poop.

Thing is, love of our Preds is the only thing keeping us from dropping cable anyway. Already dumped the DVR expense. If FSTN offered a legitimate web stream or if Center Ice included all games (no blackouts), I'd drop cable like a hot potato for Gamecenter Live.


Last edited by hockey_socks: 10-10-2010 at 10:51 AM. Reason: spelling...ugh
hockey_socks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-10-2010, 10:56 AM
  #16
BigFatCat999
I love GoOoOlD
 
BigFatCat999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Campbell, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 9,906
vCash: 500
Yeah liking the free preview. Now it's listen to the game on internet.

BigFatCat999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-11-2010, 12:26 PM
  #17
codeyh
HFB Partner
 
codeyh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cellblock 303
Country: United States
Posts: 462
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to codeyh
socks, for the record, I've got my TV with DirecTV and my interwebs with Comcast. As long as you're not trying to set up a fancy receiver in the same room as your cable modem, it's not hard to diplex the line.

codeyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-11-2010, 01:01 PM
  #18
Adz
Registered User
 
Adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hermitage TN
Country: United States
Posts: 1,213
vCash: 500
If the game was broadcast on Fox Sports Net, you may be considered in that area. FSTennessee is a carve out of FSSoutheast, which includes Atlanta, so the black out area may be wider for certain games.

Adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-14-2010, 07:20 PM
  #19
hockey_socks
Registered User
 
hockey_socks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: H*llmouth South
Country: United States
Posts: 56
vCash: 500
Well, Comcast finally got their heads out of their butts and got the Center Ice free preview up (Tues or Weds I think--couldn't even order Center Ice).

Now they've got the Blues-Preds game blacked out on Center Ice here. Memphis is not part of the Blues local viewing area.

*facepalm*

hockey_socks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-14-2010, 09:24 PM
  #20
gopreds
Registered User
 
gopreds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ocana,TN
Country: United States
Posts: 37
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockey_socks View Post
Well, Comcast finally got their heads out of their butts and got the Center Ice free preview up (Tues or Weds I think--couldn't even order Center Ice).

Now they've got the Blues-Preds game blacked out on Center Ice here. Memphis is not part of the Blues local viewing area.

*facepalm*
Its been blacked-out on the NHL Center Ice channel on Comcast here in the Nashville area and its not being shown on either FS South or SportsSouth, all Comcast can tell me is that I am in a blackout area, but I thought the rule is that if it is not being shown in the local area the blackout is lifted on the out of market broadcast. Can anyone tell me what is going on?

gopreds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-14-2010, 09:38 PM
  #21
Tennman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mt. Juliet, TN
Country: United States
Posts: 110
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by gopreds View Post
Its been blacked-out on the NHL Center Ice channel on Comcast here in the Nashville area and its not being shown on either FS South or SportsSouth, all Comcast can tell me is that I am in a blackout area, but I thought the rule is that if it is not being shown in the local area the blackout is lifted on the out of market broadcast. Can anyone tell me what is going on?
I would say the problem is comcast. I watched the game on center ice with direct tv. It was the St. Louis feed no nashville feed.

Tennman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-14-2010, 09:43 PM
  #22
gopreds
Registered User
 
gopreds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ocana,TN
Country: United States
Posts: 37
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tennman View Post
I would say the problem is comcast. I watched the game on center ice with direct tv. It was the St. Louis feed no nashville feed.
There was definetly something janked with the In Demand/Comcast system, because it showed a home and away feed channel for this game, the home feed channel(channel 775 on my system, showed nothing but a slate for the game times) channel 774(The Blues/FS Midwest Feed) was blacked-out and not viewable, the only thing is Comcast has no clue what is going on and InDemand office closes after 5PM Eastern time, so the issue was basically non-fixable and thus anyone on Comcast was prevented from viewing this game.


Last edited by gopreds: 10-14-2010 at 09:51 PM.
gopreds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-19-2010, 07:07 PM
  #23
gopreds
Registered User
 
gopreds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ocana,TN
Country: United States
Posts: 37
vCash: 500
Once again tonight on Comcast the game(Calgary vs Nashville) is being blacked out in Nashville even though it is not being shown on a local RSN, who can we contact about this?

gopreds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-19-2010, 07:10 PM
  #24
101st_fan
I taught Yoda
 
101st_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Some Army fort
Country: United States
Posts: 5,459
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by gopreds View Post
Once again tonight on Comcast the game(Calgary vs Nashville) is being blacked out in Nashville even though it is not being shown on a local RSN, who can we contact about this?
Call Directv and change providers.

101st_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-19-2010, 07:13 PM
  #25
predlady
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 13
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by 101st_fan View Post
Call Directv and change providers.
I live in Sparta(south of Cookeville) and directv has it blacked it out here. I'm really po'd!

predlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.