HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Fantasy Hockey Talk > Mock Drafts
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Mock Drafts Mock drafts for fun and fantasy here.

To Those in the GM Game - A Poll about how to do the draft

View Poll Results: Should we do it the way rupispupis has suggested?
Yes 10 50.00%
No 10 50.00%
Voters: 20. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
06-17-2004, 02:54 PM
  #1
Jon Burke
Guest
 
Country:
Posts: n/a
vCash:
To Those in the GM Game - A Poll about how to do the draft

rupispupis has came up with a great idea, IMO. Here is it, quoted from another thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by rupispupis
I have an Idea about the entry draft. Instead of doing our own, which would take a couple of months, we use the real draft. As for picks that have been traded in this game, you receive the player that was picked at the spot you own. Confused?
Example:
I, Chicago has traded my 1st #3 to Phoenix for their 1st #5.
Say Chicago takes Tukonen at #3 and PHO takes Olesz at #5.
Olesz now belongs to CHI, and Tukonen to PHO.
What do you guys think?
I will even volunteer to get all the selections straightened out after the draft.
I like it because I don't know that much about the draft and probably wouldn't be able to do nine rounds of drafting very effectively. It also saves me the work of having to set up a thread to do the draft and regulating that as well as other personnel moves (plus the two other drafts I'm running). I'd prefer to do it this way, but what do you guys think?

 
Old
06-17-2004, 02:59 PM
  #2
monster_bertuzzi
registered user
 
monster_bertuzzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vancouver
Country: Canada
Posts: 30,239
vCash: 500
I voted no. Too confusing, and wheres the fun in that?

monster_bertuzzi is offline  
Old
06-17-2004, 03:00 PM
  #3
ktownhockey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario canada
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,433
vCash: 500
I voted yes, but I wouldnt mind if we picked ourselves

ktownhockey is offline  
Old
06-17-2004, 03:10 PM
  #4
Jon Burke
Guest
 
Country:
Posts: n/a
vCash:
Quote:
Originally Posted by monster_bertuzzi
I voted no. Too confusing, and wheres the fun in that?
The fun is seeing your commish happy not to have to do way more work

 
Old
06-17-2004, 03:12 PM
  #5
monster_bertuzzi
registered user
 
monster_bertuzzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vancouver
Country: Canada
Posts: 30,239
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danrik
The fun is seeing your commish happy not to have to do way more work
Not for me......

monster_bertuzzi is offline  
Old
06-17-2004, 03:14 PM
  #6
rinkrat13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toronto
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,147
vCash: 500
I vote no - I want to draft... plus, I think the draft should be done in a chat room (HF chat would be fine) and not in a thread.

using a chat room for the draft, we would be able to finish the draft in a few hours... and as for the nine rounds go, I think we should only draft 4 rounds.

and for those of you that aren't familiar with this years draft eligible players - you can find a ton of info right there in the mock board and/or the prospect board... start doing some homework

rinkrat13 is offline  
Old
06-17-2004, 03:19 PM
  #7
Jon Burke
Guest
 
Country:
Posts: n/a
vCash:
Maybe I should've made it a public poll so I could tell if any outsiders decided to vote. If you do, blast you *shakes fist*

So far it's four-two in favor.

 
Old
06-17-2004, 03:26 PM
  #8
monster_bertuzzi
registered user
 
monster_bertuzzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vancouver
Country: Canada
Posts: 30,239
vCash: 500
Rat makes a good point, theres a mock draft going on right now that is 9 rounds deep of 2004 eligible players. So for those that are oblivious to the draft, just get off your ***'s and do some homework!

monster_bertuzzi is offline  
Old
06-17-2004, 03:30 PM
  #9
Jon Burke
Guest
 
Country:
Posts: n/a
vCash:
Quote:
Originally Posted by monster_bertuzzi
Rat makes a good point, theres a mock draft going on right now that is 9 rounds deep of 2004 eligible players. So for those that are oblivious to the draft, just get off your ***'s and do some homework!
Don't call me lazy

 
Old
06-17-2004, 03:35 PM
  #10
rupispupis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 200
vCash: 500
As a big shocker, I voted YES.

rupispupis is offline  
Old
06-17-2004, 03:36 PM
  #11
ORBluesFan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 417
vCash: 500
I voted NO, I like making my own choices, but I could go either way.

ORBluesFan is offline  
Old
06-17-2004, 03:40 PM
  #12
rupispupis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 200
vCash: 500
Since we now have a couple of teams with like 6 1st rnd picks each, and for Calgary to avoid ending up with both Schwarz and Montoya - how about we do a manual 1st rnd, and the rest as stated above.

That's a compromise.

rupispupis is offline  
Old
06-17-2004, 03:51 PM
  #13
markov`
Registered User
 
markov`'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Top 2 in the world
Posts: 3,647
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by rupispupis
Since we now have a couple of teams with like 6 1st rnd picks each, and for Calgary to avoid ending up with both Schwarz and Montoya - how about we do a manual 1st rnd, and the rest as stated above.

That's a compromise.
Why not do the 1st, 2nd and 3rd rounds manually, and the rest automatically?

markov` is offline  
Old
06-17-2004, 03:56 PM
  #14
GKJ
Global Moderator
Entertainment
 
GKJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Do not trade plz
Country: United States
Posts: 113,326
vCash: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by rupispupis
Since we now have a couple of teams with like 6 1st rnd picks each, and for Calgary to avoid ending up with both Schwarz and Montoya - how about we do a manual 1st rnd, and the rest as stated above.

That's a compromise.

How about just doing Day 1 manully.


To the person who came up with using HFChat, what do you do for the people who aren't there?

GKJ is offline  
Old
06-17-2004, 04:02 PM
  #15
dwaynester
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Southwestern Ontario
Posts: 174
vCash: 500
that wont work either

i like the idea of just following the actual NHL draft. If we have a mock draft, I will not be taking part, as I am just too busy catching up with work. besides, as they say, it will take 6 weeks to complete.

What if you do a manual first, and the players you take arent taken yet in the real draft. The same player will then go twice.

Go with the actual NHL draft, and just assign the players to the teams. Sounds fair to me. If you want a full draft, PM me the trade offers for the rest of my picks

dwaynester is offline  
Old
06-17-2004, 04:03 PM
  #16
Jon Burke
Guest
 
Country:
Posts: n/a
vCash:
Doing day one manually sounds like an idea to me.

 
Old
06-17-2004, 04:07 PM
  #17
monster_bertuzzi
registered user
 
monster_bertuzzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vancouver
Country: Canada
Posts: 30,239
vCash: 500
Problem: Doing the 1st round manually then leaching off the real deal for the next 8 rounds means that some teams would end up with the same player.

Example:
If we do the 1st round as our own mock, and say Vancouver picks...oh I dont know, Evan Mcgrah at #26....then in real life Mcgrath gets picked in the 2nd round. It just wont work folks.

monster_bertuzzi is offline  
Old
06-17-2004, 04:09 PM
  #18
Jon Burke
Guest
 
Country:
Posts: n/a
vCash:
Quote:
Originally Posted by monster_bertuzzi
Problem: Doing the 1st round manually then leaching off the real deal for the next 8 rounds means that some teams would end up with the same player.

Example:
If we do the 1st round as our own mock, and say Vancouver picks...oh I dont know, Evan Mcgrah at #26....then in real life Mcgrath gets picked in the 2nd round. It just wont work folks.
True that.

 
Old
06-17-2004, 04:21 PM
  #19
sketchykg
Registered User
 
sketchykg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,178
vCash: 500
I voted no, but I'm all for a auto draft after round one.

sketchykg is offline  
Old
06-17-2004, 04:25 PM
  #20
sketchykg
Registered User
 
sketchykg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,178
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by monster_bertuzzi
Problem: Doing the 1st round manually then leaching off the real deal for the next 8 rounds means that some teams would end up with the same player.

Example:
If we do the 1st round as our own mock, and say Vancouver picks...oh I dont know, Evan Mcgrah at #26....then in real life Mcgrath gets picked in the 2nd round. It just wont work folks.
Easy fix. If in your case you take Mcgrath, and he really goes in the second round, you get a compensary 1st round pick in the 2005 draft.

sketchykg is offline  
Old
06-17-2004, 04:27 PM
  #21
sketchykg
Registered User
 
sketchykg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,178
vCash: 500
Seriously, though. We can do the draft after the actual draft and only pick players that went in the first round.

sketchykg is offline  
Old
06-17-2004, 04:46 PM
  #22
Desibasha
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 144
vCash: 500
I duess we shud round 1-3 manually.....Some people may not be here at the chosen date of the draft (likely me if its saturday or sunday)...I think we shud start the draft thread...the rest of the drafts shud be automaticlly IMO....

With the 2nd overall...
With the 4th overall...
With the 6th overall...
With the 29th overall...
With the 30th overall...

more to come...Yeah Baby

BTW the Flames will also be put on FOR SALE for any GM to take over (But they have to SMART as me ) ...As I will be leaving for a 2 month vacation on the 28th

Desibasha is offline  
Old
06-17-2004, 04:47 PM
  #23
xtra
Registered User
 
xtra's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,102
vCash: 500
Use the real results after the first round because i worked hard to get the pick i have cause i have my eye on a few players i want to add to my prospect pool...as for the chance that we select someone in the first round that the NHL selects in the second...its a risk we should have to take and if somethingl like that happens you get a comp pick in that spot next year....simple as that.

xtra is offline  
Old
06-17-2004, 06:04 PM
  #24
rupispupis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 200
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by sketchykg
Seriously, though. We can do the draft after the actual draft and only pick players that went in the first round.
That's exactly what I was thinking!!!
On Sunday, June 27th, We'll have a 1 rnd draft. There will be 30 players available (ones that were picked in the first rnd).
Yeah?!

rupispupis is offline  
Old
06-17-2004, 06:06 PM
  #25
rupispupis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 200
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desibasha
I duess we shud round 1-3 manually.....Some people may not be here at the chosen date of the draft (likely me if its saturday or sunday)...I think we shud start the draft thread...the rest of the drafts shud be automaticlly IMO....

With the 2nd overall...
With the 4th overall...
With the 6th overall...
With the 29th overall...
With the 30th overall...

more to come...Yeah Baby

BTW the Flames will also be put on FOR SALE for any GM to take over (But they have to SMART as me ) ...As I will be leaving for a 2 month vacation on the 28th
I would be honored.
However, Fleury couldn't be the captain.

rupispupis is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2015 All Rights Reserved.