HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Eastern Conference > Atlantic Division > Montreal Canadiens
Notices

So how does the 3D look? Reviews anyone?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
12-11-2010, 07:56 PM
  #1
Born in 1909
Hockey Royalty
 
Born in 1909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,692
vCash: 500
So how does the 3D look? Reviews anyone?

I don't have any glasses myself

ps. Some detailed descriptions would be nice. Thanks.


Last edited by Born in 1909: 12-11-2010 at 08:08 PM.
Born in 1909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-11-2010, 07:58 PM
  #2
Stjonnypopo
Rgesitreed Uesr
 
Stjonnypopo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mount Doom
Posts: 10,280
vCash: 506
Neither do I.

I can't be useful in this thread, but with every useless post I inch my way closer to 3000.

Stjonnypopo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
12-11-2010, 08:00 PM
  #3
habsfanwpg27*
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 282
vCash: 500
i'm almost at 200...whoooo! but yeah 3d eh no clue. I heard 30 rock is a great show.

habsfanwpg27* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-11-2010, 08:01 PM
  #4
Whitesnake
Habs of steel
 
Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lorraine, QC
Country: Canada
Posts: 47,094
vCash: 500
Reviews from Renaud Lavoie is that it's okay, but he says there's some serious problems as far as hockey is concerned. Only gives it a 5 out of 10.

Whitesnake is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
12-11-2010, 08:25 PM
  #5
Mister Potato
Registered User
 
Mister Potato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Country: Hong Kong
Posts: 871
vCash: 500
I have Bell and tune into channel 1933 but it doesn't show 3D at all. It's two split screens. I don't know you anyone else using Bell has the same issue.

Mister Potato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-11-2010, 08:31 PM
  #6
neilsonftw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 598
vCash: 500
Using videotron, it looks ok using the view from upside, but when they use the ice-level camera, it's just amazing, really looks like your're next to the ice.

neilsonftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-11-2010, 09:46 PM
  #7
Mister Potato
Registered User
 
Mister Potato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Country: Hong Kong
Posts: 871
vCash: 500
no reviews at all ?

Mister Potato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-11-2010, 10:22 PM
  #8
Azalichio
Registered User
 
Azalichio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,136
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to Azalichio
Tried it with videotron with the safe 3D, ( blue/red glasses ). from the top, pretty average but ice level? very, very nice. Still kinda meh because of the glasses themselves. hard to adjust especially when you remove them after watching the habs for some time.

Makes me really want to try it with true HD to see the difference, because going from standart to HD to 3D you really notice the change.

They also showed some footage from the Flyers/bruins games outside and boy that was amazing, clarity is incredible in 3d.

But in the end, no matter how nice it was at ice level and everything, it still feels kinda not ready, at least with the "safe" 3d.

Azalichio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-11-2010, 10:28 PM
  #9
Mister Potato
Registered User
 
Mister Potato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Country: Hong Kong
Posts: 871
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azalichio View Post
Tried it with videotron with the safe 3D, ( blue/red glasses ). from the top, pretty average but ice level? very, very nice. Still kinda meh because of the glasses themselves. hard to adjust especially when you remove them after watching the habs for some time.

Makes me really want to try it with true HD to see the difference, because going from standart to HD to 3D you really notice the change.

They also showed some footage from the Flyers/bruins games outside and boy that was amazing, clarity is incredible in 3d.

But in the end, no matter how nice it was at ice level and everything, it still feels kinda not ready, at least with the "safe" 3d.
I tried 3D with Bell, but it didn't seem to work properly. There was a split between the screen of the TV and it was showing the same thing on both screens. I called Bell to ask them what was happening and they told me it was a problem with the broadcaster and that they were trying to fix the problem, but I tried after and it was still the same.

So I was wondering if anybody using Bell and tried 3D had the same problem as I did or it wasn't CBC having problems but Bell was.

Mister Potato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-11-2010, 10:39 PM
  #10
Azalichio
Registered User
 
Azalichio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,136
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to Azalichio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister Potato View Post
I tried 3D with Bell, but it didn't seem to work properly. There was a split between the screen of the TV and it was showing the same thing on both screens. I called Bell to ask them what was happening and they told me it was a problem with the broadcaster and that they were trying to fix the problem, but I tried after and it was still the same.

So I was wondering if anybody using Bell and tried 3D had the same problem as I did or it wasn't CBC having problems but Bell was.
split screen? wasn't that true 3d? Should have been another channel with cyan/red for regular HD tv ( work without having a 3d tv ). seems like you were watching the wrong channel. Videotron had both : 801 was true 3d, split screen, and 802 was called Safe 3D, cyan/red.

Azalichio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-11-2010, 10:45 PM
  #11
Fel 96
JFC
 
Fel 96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Little Canada
Country: Canada
Posts: 56,874
vCash: 2037
Send a message via MSN to Fel 96
split screen was the real 3D channel. You needed the 3DTV to watch that properly.

the Safe 3D was kind of terrible for me...


I think only videotron offered the Safe 3D channel.

Fel 96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-11-2010, 10:50 PM
  #12
Nedved
Registered User
 
Nedved's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Country: Canada
Posts: 7,755
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister Potato View Post
I have Bell and tune into channel 1933 but it doesn't show 3D at all. It's two split screens. I don't know you anyone else using Bell has the same issue.
you need the new bell receiver that is for 3d tv. that's right more money. watched it at a friends, it's nothing special. maybe it would be better on another station, because even cbc's hd quality seems below tsn's/nhl network. I don't like the idea of 3d, it didn't improve my quality of watching. Honestly, if the 3d tv is going to work, it has a lot of work to do.

I was wondering about the glasses, can the movie 3d glasses work as well? or only the ones that turn on?

Nedved is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-11-2010, 10:51 PM
  #13
Mister Potato
Registered User
 
Mister Potato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Country: Hong Kong
Posts: 871
vCash: 500
I have a 3D ready Samsung TV and the glasses and on CBC it says for bell subscribers is channel 1933 and it had a split screen.

Mister Potato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-11-2010, 10:52 PM
  #14
Mister Potato
Registered User
 
Mister Potato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Country: Hong Kong
Posts: 871
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nedved View Post
you need the new bell receiver that is for 3d tv. that's right more money. watched it at a friends, it's nothing special. maybe it would be better on another station, because even cbc's hd quality seems below tsn's/nhl network. I don't like the idea of 3d, it didn't improve my quality of watching. Honestly, if the 3d tv is going to work, it has a lot of work to do.

I was wondering about the glasses, can the movie 3d glasses work as well? or only the ones that turn on?
which receiver is that ? I have the Bell HD receiver 6131 I think it's the only one they have.

Mister Potato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-11-2010, 11:05 PM
  #15
Nedved
Registered User
 
Nedved's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Country: Canada
Posts: 7,755
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister Potato View Post
which receiver is that ? I have the Bell HD receiver 6131 I think it's the only one they have.
if you have the newer black receiver it should work, if you have the older silver receiver it won't.

i checked yours, it should cause it plays both the mpeg-2 and mpeg-4 signals. Maybe you needed the 3d tv?

Nedved is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-11-2010, 11:40 PM
  #16
Mister Potato
Registered User
 
Mister Potato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Country: Hong Kong
Posts: 871
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nedved View Post
if you have the newer black receiver it should work, if you have the older silver receiver it won't.

i checked yours, it should cause it plays both the mpeg-2 and mpeg-4 signals. Maybe you needed the 3d tv?
lol i don't know what was wrong. I have a Samsung 3D tv and the glasses.

Mister Potato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-12-2010, 12:08 AM
  #17
Sevren
Registered User
 
Sevren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,901
vCash: 50
Are you sure that your TV supports 3D without additional hardware? If the answer is yes, look at its configuration and make sure it is set to receive "side by side" 3D because apparently it isn't auto-detecting the 3D format. You can test it using channel 1933 on Bell TV because it plays 3D content 24/7 as far as I know.

Blu-Ray sends full frames when it comes to 3D, but TV providers only send side by side half frames to save bandwidth and provide 3D on already available receivers that do not officially support 3D. Your TV must be able to detect this and reformat the picture accordingly.

Sevren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-12-2010, 12:10 AM
  #18
Mister Potato
Registered User
 
Mister Potato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Country: Hong Kong
Posts: 871
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sevren View Post
Are you sure that your TV supports 3D without additional hardware? If the answer is yes, look at its configuration and make sure it is set to receive "side by side" 3D because apparently it isn't auto-detecting the 3D format. You can test it using channel 1933 on Bell TV because it plays 3D content 24/7 as far as I know.

Blu-Ray sends full frames when it comes to 3D, but TV providers only send side by side half frames to save bandwidth and provide 3D on already available receivers that do not officially support 3D. Your TV must be able to detect this and reformat the picture accordingly.
Thanks for the info, I'll try to figure out the configuration with the TV.

Mister Potato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-12-2010, 01:36 AM
  #19
MacHabs93
Registered User
 
MacHabs93's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Montreal
Country: Italy
Posts: 1,475
vCash: 500
Looked great on my 50 inch Panasonic with Videotron. Now as good as a 3D bluray, but much better than regular 2D-3D conversion.

MacHabs93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.