HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Eastern Conference > Metropolitan Division > New York Rangers
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Notices

Reason for the Versus blackout (?)

Old
12-16-2010, 09:00 AM
proper animal
Sorry by me

vCash: 500
Reason for the Versus blackout (?)

Hey guys, many of us who tuned into Versus last night were treated to a skiing competition instead of the Rangers/Pens game as advertised. This was a huge problem for any of us in the area who have Charter as a service provider in the tri-state, as we don't get MSG2 and had no other outlet to watch the game.

Initially I thought Versus had messed up, so irately, I called them up to inform them that they were showing the wrong thing. They informed me that it was the NHL's decision to black the game out in our area and that they alone make the decision to do so.

Now, I'm not new to this-- I have a masters degree in television/radio/film, but maybe I missed a class or two because I've never heard of a nationally televised game being blacked out in an opposing team's market. What would they have to gain by depriving us this? If the game wasn't a sell out (although I bet it was), there's no reason that I can think of to take it out on metro NYers.

The only guesses I can venture that make the slightest hint of a modicum of sense are too laughable to post even on this board, and yes, that's saying something. Anyone have ideas as to why this might have happened and how we can prevent it in the future?

Regardless, the NHL got an angry letter.

proper animal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-16-2010, 09:09 AM
Leetch3

the game was on MSG2, vs didn't have exclusive rights so they probably can't broadcast against msg

Leetch3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-16-2010, 09:16 AM
ECL
Very slippery slope

Send a message via AIM to ECL
Quote:
Originally Posted by CM PUNK View Post