Jukka Hentunen destroys Camilo Miettinen - clean or not?
There is a BIG discussion in Finland about this open ice hit. Was it blind-sided? I don't think so. Was it headshot? I don't think so. IMO it was shoulder against shoulder and that shouldn't be five minute major! Someone said it was disrespectful hit but Miettinen was stupid on that play. Why he cuts to the middle because he surely knows that someone is going to bang him up?
Miettinen has concussion and damaged gristle on clavicle and his season is over. Hentunen's hit is going to local Shanahan.
I want to get sope opinions from foreigners and NHL-fans! Dirty hit or not?
Edit. Oh yeah, it was five minut major for charging.
Last edited by glassbangers: 03-29-2012 at 06:16 AM.
It seemed like a clean hit. Hentunen did not target Miettinen's head and the head itself was not even especially low. Hentunen's hands were not high either. Miettinen had a bad luck, he had focused on the puck and moving it forward but suddenly out of nowhere Hentunen appears and tackles. Anyway judging from the slow-motion, it did not look like Hentunen was directing the force of the tackle straight to Miettinen's head. Clean hit!
Hentunen will not be suspended for this hit (per Savon Sanomat), nor he should. Absolutely clean hit, the best I've seen in SM-Liiga this season. From the video there's no way to track all Hentunen's steps, so I won't crusify the referees for calling that major for charging.
Hopefully Miettinen is ready for action ASAP.
According to the rules it's a clean hit, but in general I don't like these huge open ice head-on hits, they're the most dangerous and very often something like this happens. If two players collide in full speed against each other coming from opposite directions, bad things happen.
Blind side. Should have gotten at least one game for it.
imo he turns and skates torwards hentunen. i think its more of a hard open ice hit from ahead. but i guess thats debatble. When i saw it first time i thought its blindside, but after replay i came to the conclusion to my conclusion above...
These are the kind of situations I hate. Both players, nothing to do with the play itself, skate upon eachother and collide. Salomäki saw Hodgman first, thus hodgman getting the worst of it. Basicaly the correct call would be interference to both but since Salomäki was more prepared and Hodgman had no idea where he was going, the major. Stupid, but from a refferees angle, what are you going to do?
Salomäki got a three-game suspension for that. ****ing ridiculous if you ask me.
Well, It was his second game misconduct in 3 games. Plus I have hard time believing it was an accident. First you accidentally bump in to a referee, the next game you accidentally take out arguably the best player in the league in the last minute of a game you're losing.
The kid needs to learn his lesson before he does anything really stupid.
Yeah right. And the Oscar goes to.........Kai Suikkanen & Justin Hodgman! Congrats!
Those guys played it well. The contact didnt look that hard even in the first place, but Hodgman did great "dying swan" imitation. Despite that 1 game suspension would have been alright for Salomäki, but 3 games is too much.