HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Eastern Conference > Metropolitan Division > Washington Capitals
Notices

Video Games II

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
04-21-2011, 08:58 PM
  #76
Drake1588
UNATCO
 
Drake1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 27,836
vCash: 500
--better in the OT thread--

Drake1588 is offline  
Old
04-22-2011, 10:14 AM
  #77
brs03
Coo coo ca cha!
 
brs03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maryland
Country: United States
Posts: 12,216
vCash: 500
Portal 2... home run (at least single player).

Not as original, but the new stuff is hella fun. And the writing is just perfect.

brs03 is offline  
Old
04-22-2011, 02:06 PM
  #78
usiel
HFBoards Sponsor
 
usiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Malaz City
Country: San Marino
Posts: 9,807
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to usiel
Man haven't even played DA2 in a couple of weeks. The more I played it the more I realized other than graphics and just such a step back/dissapointment compared to DA1 .

__________________
True Story™®©
usiel is offline  
Old
04-22-2011, 02:08 PM
  #79
QuadrupleDeke
33% more deke
 
QuadrupleDeke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 4,473
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by brs03 View Post
Portal 2... home run (at least single player).

Not as original, but the new stuff is hella fun. And the writing is just perfect.
So true.

Though there were a few outside-the-test-chamber parts that were more "looking around for where the hell a portal can go" than problem solving. It could've done without those.

QuadrupleDeke is offline  
Old
04-22-2011, 02:16 PM
  #80
brs03
Coo coo ca cha!
 
brs03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maryland
Country: United States
Posts: 12,216
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuadrupleDeke View Post
So true.

Though there were a few outside-the-test-chamber parts that were more "looking around for where the hell a portal can go" than problem solving. It could've done without those.
Yeah, but for me a few of those were perhaps the most rewarding, because they were situations where I was basically "they couldn't possibly want me to do that... or maybe they do."

brs03 is offline  
Old
04-22-2011, 10:25 PM
  #81
brs03
Coo coo ca cha!
 
brs03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maryland
Country: United States
Posts: 12,216
vCash: 500
"Want you gone" refuses to get out of my head.

brs03 is offline  
Old
04-25-2011, 12:35 PM
  #82
Cush
-inator
 
Cush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Country: United States
Posts: 9,735
vCash: 500
Witcher 2 Combat Overview (I like they way he pronounces develop & opponents) : http://www.gametrailers.com/video/ex...13171?type=flv

Hurry up May 17.....

I actually don't mind them changing the combat. Combat in the first was frustrating. There were a lot of times where he wouldn't swing even if it was lined up, & the camera (mainly over the shoulder) didn't help

Cush is offline  
Old
04-25-2011, 12:38 PM
  #83
QuadrupleDeke
33% more deke
 
QuadrupleDeke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 4,473
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by brs03 View Post
"Want you gone" refuses to get out of my head.
That's what I'm counting on.

QuadrupleDeke is offline  
Old
04-25-2011, 12:41 PM
  #84
brs03
Coo coo ca cha!
 
brs03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maryland
Country: United States
Posts: 12,216
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuadrupleDeke View Post
That's what I'm counting on.
{REDACTED}

brs03 is offline  
Old
04-25-2011, 06:29 PM
  #85
Cush
-inator
 
Cush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Country: United States
Posts: 9,735
vCash: 500
Is there a big difference in going from 4GB to 6GB (DDR2 Win7 64bit)? I do some video & photo editing so there are times where I'll have multiple programs running. Not sure if I do enough to warrant 8gb, so would 6 be a good middle ground?

Cush is offline  
Old
04-25-2011, 06:33 PM
  #86
usiel
HFBoards Sponsor
 
usiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Malaz City
Country: San Marino
Posts: 9,807
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to usiel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cush View Post
Is there a big difference in going from 4GB to 6GB (DDR2 Win7 64bit)? I do some video & photo editing so there are times where I'll have multiple programs running. Not sure if I do enough to warrant 8gb, so would 6 be a good middle ground?
Hard to say. All I know is moving from 4 to 8 GBs on my system was the most noticable boost of performance that I've ever seen when upping RAM through the years.

usiel is offline  
Old
04-26-2011, 06:42 PM
  #87
Cush
-inator
 
Cush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Country: United States
Posts: 9,735
vCash: 500


And one in Polish


Haha...place holder voice acting in this one


Last edited by Cush: 04-26-2011 at 06:49 PM.
Cush is offline  
Old
04-26-2011, 06:58 PM
  #88
Drake1588
UNATCO
 
Drake1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 27,836
vCash: 500
I would consider 4GB the absolute bare minimum for that OS. I would consider 6GB a good minimum for pure gaming with Win7 64. For video processing and any kind of high-end applications multi-tasking, 8GB+ would be what I would aim for, personally. Does your motherboard take RAM sticks in multiples of 2 or 3? If it's 3, that would be the only reason I might consider (3x2GB) 6GB instead of going to 8GB.

Drake1588 is offline  
Old
04-26-2011, 07:07 PM
  #89
Drake1588
UNATCO
 
Drake1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 27,836
vCash: 500
I have a PC built with a Core i7 920 about a year and a half to two years ago with 6GB for gaming and video processing (3x2GB), and I may bump that to (6x2GB) and 12GB. It's fine for gaming, has a little bit of issues for video processing.

New PC has a Sandy Bridge CPU, and I started with (2x4GB) and 8GB. I'll probably go to (4x4GB) in time, though it sails through everything thus far.

Hard to gauge, sometimes. The new PC has SSDs, the old one 7,200 rpm drives in a RAID 0 configuration as the root drive. Exactly what element makes it chug or speed up isn't always easy to isolate.

Drake1588 is offline  
Old
04-26-2011, 10:57 PM
  #90
Oldskool
Registered User
 
Oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 199
vCash: 500
Why stop at 8gb? RAM prices are dirt cheap right now that I just replaced my 2x4gb sticks with 4x4gb kit which cost only $130.

99% of the time the GPU is the bottleneck while gaming, not RAM. I'm running Windows 7 64-bit and I've never ever ever seen my system use more than 4gb of RAM, even with multiple apps running while gaming. For video encoding, Photoshop, renderings, etc. it's RAM and CPU that are bottlenecks.

Oldskool is offline  
Old
04-27-2011, 12:12 AM
  #91
Cush
-inator
 
Cush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Country: United States
Posts: 9,735
vCash: 500
I think the most I've seen used is about 3.1 or so GBs (while playing Shogun 2). Wondering if it will change when they release the patch that includes DX 11, or would that be more of a GPU thing?. I guess going to 6 couldn't hurt.....

Cush is offline  
Old
04-27-2011, 01:04 AM
  #92
Drake1588
UNATCO
 
Drake1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 27,836
vCash: 500
A powerful GPU will take on as much of the gaming needs as possible. Gaming is more GPU and CPU limited. Applications, especially multitasking, are where it will tax the RAM.

With an older GPU, it starts to bleed to other components and stress the CPU and RAM.

Drake1588 is offline  
Old
04-28-2011, 03:42 PM
  #93
Drake1588
UNATCO
 
Drake1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 27,836
vCash: 500
More detail on The Old Republic that I have not seen elsewhere:

http://arstechnica.com/gaming/review...d-republic.ars

Drake1588 is offline  
Old
04-28-2011, 03:56 PM
  #94
Cush
-inator
 
Cush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Country: United States
Posts: 9,735
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drake1588 View Post
More detail on The Old Republic that I have not seen elsewhere:

http://arstechnica.com/gaming/review...d-republic.ars
I wouldn't even know what class to choose, though I have heard that you can have 8 characters per account

Cush is offline  
Old
04-28-2011, 05:40 PM
  #95
CapitalsCupFantasy
HFBoards Sponsor
 
CapitalsCupFantasy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Country: United States
Posts: 27,606
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drake1588 View Post
More detail on The Old Republic that I have not seen elsewhere:

http://arstechnica.com/gaming/review...d-republic.ars
I want this thing to be good....so much so, that it's destined to suck just to screw me over.

CapitalsCupFantasy is offline  
Old
04-28-2011, 06:02 PM
  #96
Drake1588
UNATCO
 
Drake1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 27,836
vCash: 500
Just read a new PC Gamer feature. Starting to sound very cool, in the sense that it is very heavily KOTOR III, alongwith a MMO. The key is going to be how well it merges its RPG core with the MMO elements, and PvP. If you really just want to play KOTOR III, though, you can definitely do that. There are eight fully fleshed out stories, that you play through for each class over about 100 hours each. Lots of parallels are made to Dragon Age: Origins in that sense.

Interesting stuff in that Ars Technica article on familiars/pets, interaction, and elaborate questing that you can send your familiar out to perform without you, over a short time, a couple of hours, or even a full day. Cool, and as far as I know, innovative.

Drake1588 is offline  
Old
04-28-2011, 06:06 PM
  #97
Cush
-inator
 
Cush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Country: United States
Posts: 9,735
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drake1588 View Post
Just read a new PC Gamer feature. Starting to sound very cool, in the sense that it is very heavily KOTOR III, alongwith a MMO. The key is going to be how well it merges its RPG core with the MMO elements, and PvP. If you really just want to play KOTOR III, though, you can definitely do that. There are eight fully fleshed out stories, that you play through for each class over about 100 hours each. Lots of parallels are made to Dragon Age: Origins in that sense..
http://www.destructoid.com/new-star-...n-199418.phtml

Quote:
BioWare writer Drew Karpyshyn has been working on a The Old Republic novel -- the third one in a Del Rey published series of TOR novels -- and now its title has been reveald: Revan.

Revan will focus on Knights of the Old Republic's protagonist and will finally disclose what happens to Revan after the events of KOTOR. Karpyshyn says that while KOTOR had a lot of player choice for Revan's story, the book will follow the canon where Revan is male and ends up choosing the Light Side ending. The entire story will start after KOTOR and continue throughout and beyond KOTOR II.

Some of the companions of the KOTOR games will also feature in the novel, although Karpyshyn only wanted to mention Canderous, T3-M4, the Exile and Bastila Shan.....

Cush is offline  
Old
04-28-2011, 06:47 PM
  #98
CapitalsCupFantasy
HFBoards Sponsor
 
CapitalsCupFantasy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Country: United States
Posts: 27,606
vCash: 500
If it's not WOW quality....it's doomed. Just my opinion...

CapitalsCupFantasy is offline  
Old
04-28-2011, 07:15 PM
  #99
Integral
Registered User
 
Integral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Country: United States
Posts: 252
vCash: 500
I feel like this could also be a good testing ground for Bioware for when they release the inevitable Mass Effect MMORPG.

Integral is offline  
Old
05-01-2011, 08:49 AM
  #100
Marshall
Too right, man.
 
Marshall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Old Town Alexandria
Posts: 11,825
vCash: 500
Played a bunch of Super Tecmo Bowl last night with a pal over beers.

Still may be the greatest ****-talking video game ever.

(Obligatory Bo Jackson mention)

Marshall is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2014 All Rights Reserved.