HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

Sim City

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
03-06-2013, 04:41 PM
  #476
Zeroknowledge*
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Facing a PC
Posts: 1,644
vCash: 500
As much as I wanna buy this

I' forcing myself to boycott over DRM and over tiny maps which eventually they will make us pay for by releasing bigger maps via DLC.

I hate where gaming is going, I'd rather boycott and hope enough people do so that it goes back to what it once was.

**** DLC and **** DRM.

Hopefully a hacked version comes out with stable servers eventually.

Zeroknowledge* is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 05:13 PM
  #477
Helton4Hall
Internet Charlatan
 
Helton4Hall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Storming the Gates
Country: South Korea
Posts: 19,367
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sined View Post
Yup, my University is at the fringe areas of radiation.
I put a massive wind farm where the worse fallout is. (sort of ironic)

ALso, aside from the Origin/Server **** fest, as a person who played EVERY single SimCity that existed, I like the new direction of this game.

The setting is much more intimate, micromanaging my large city has been pretty challenging and the social aspect (when it works) is quite an interesting facet.

I'm playing with a co-worker and the synergy between our cities is a very interesting game mechanic.
I honestly think it's a good game, other than the DRM issues.

Helton4Hall is online now  
Old
03-06-2013, 05:19 PM
  #478
Helton4Hall
Internet Charlatan
 
Helton4Hall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Storming the Gates
Country: South Korea
Posts: 19,367
vCash: 500
Servers down again. Jesus.

Helton4Hall is online now  
Old
03-06-2013, 05:31 PM
  #479
vBurmi
Blue-Line Dekes
 
vBurmi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Totally lost
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,688
vCash: 900
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Brown View Post
Other than server issues, how is the game? Debating buying this. I've got an almost two year old Samsung laptop though, but it has a Core i5 and 4 GB of RAM. Will that suffice?
I've got a 4 year old Dell Vostro laptop (their business model) with a Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM and whatever integrated graphics Intel had at the time (I think series 4). It runs fine on minimum everything but with anti-aliasing and v-sync on. Pretty much as long as I don't put anything on high it's playable but I like it more responsive than pretty.

You should be fine. They weren't kidding when they said they wanted this mainstream.

vBurmi is online now  
Old
03-06-2013, 05:39 PM
  #480
LickTheEnvelope
6th Overall Blows
 
LickTheEnvelope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 28,188
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sined View Post
Yup, my University is at the fringe areas of radiation.
I put a massive wind farm where the worse fallout is. (sort of ironic)

ALso, aside from the Origin/Server **** fest, as a person who played EVERY single SimCity that existed, I like the new direction of this game.

The setting is much more intimate, micromanaging my large city has been pretty challenging and the social aspect (when it works) is quite an interesting facet.

I'm playing with a co-worker and the synergy between our cities is a very interesting game mechanic.
Question Sined: How often are you having to go around destroying things to build things that are required?

I don't care so much about the DRM issues (which are ridiculous) but the map size is what absolutely killed the game in my mind.

I watched a number of streams of people in the beta where they hit the wall after 45 mins to an hour and then there was nothing they could do other than destroy things to build other things... ironically right beside huge plots of open land...

LickTheEnvelope is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 05:57 PM
  #481
Sovereign
sic parvis magna
 
Sovereign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Country: Canada
Posts: 9,961
vCash: 500
So, how do I create Oil wells and mines?

Sovereign is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 07:04 PM
  #482
Loose Sens
Drafting my Overalls
 
Loose Sens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa
Country: Canada
Posts: 11,913
vCash: 500
So what server is this HF thingy on? I have no recent experience with any of the more recent Sim City games but I'd like to join if that's OK.

Loose Sens is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 07:27 PM
  #483
vBurmi
Blue-Line Dekes
 
vBurmi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Totally lost
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,688
vCash: 900
Quote:
Originally Posted by IHerb View Post
So, how do I create Oil wells and mines?
Bottom left of the screen (top to bottom it goes: Region view, City view, Specialties). It's in the Specialties menu, separate from all the other things you can build. Took me awhile to find it too.

vBurmi is online now  
Old
03-06-2013, 07:31 PM
  #484
Ubercron9000
Registered User
 
Ubercron9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 795
vCash: 500
The only big issue i have with the game is the damn servers. Great game. Does anyone know how to build stadiums or will that be micro?

Ubercron9000 is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 07:34 PM
  #485
XX
Lots of Try
 
XX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Executionville
Country: United States
Posts: 28,815
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Jones View Post
Servers down again. Jesus.
Welcome to EA land

XX is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 08:23 PM
  #486
vBurmi
Blue-Line Dekes
 
vBurmi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Totally lost
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,688
vCash: 900
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubercron9000 View Post
The only big issue i have with the game is the damn servers. Great game. Does anyone know how to build stadiums or will that be micro?
Specialties. I think under "Culture".

vBurmi is online now  
Old
03-06-2013, 08:42 PM
  #487
Franck
Insolent Upstart
 
Franck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gothenburg
Country: Sweden
Posts: 7,936
vCash: 500
Download the game and of course when I start it up I can't get further than the start screen...

Great job EA!

Starting the game takes a friggin' century too.

Franck is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 08:44 PM
  #488
Jack Bourdain
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Jack Bourdain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montréal, QC.
Country: Canada
Posts: 12,163
vCash: 500
Hey Alex Jones, can you invite me to HFBoards World? It's JackBourdain on your friends list.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franck View Post
Download the game and of course when I start it up I can't get further than the start screen...

Great job EA!
The fix: http://answers.ea.com/t5/Updater/Che...ue/td-p/634232

Jack Bourdain is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 09:00 PM
  #489
Franck
Insolent Upstart
 
Franck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gothenburg
Country: Sweden
Posts: 7,936
vCash: 500
And now I can't start a city...

This is officially the very last time I ever buy anything associated with EA.

Franck is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 09:00 PM
  #490
XX
Lots of Try
 
XX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Executionville
Country: United States
Posts: 28,815
vCash: 500
I'll take an invite - HariiKarii

Got "in" to a server but still wont let me do the starting scenario or make a game.

XX is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 09:02 PM
  #491
Francesa
Moderator
(╯°□°)╯︵ SƖ ןɥu ɐǝ
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: Canada
Posts: 191,346
vCash: 500
Beta tells users to "pack the servers so we can test properly"

Then servers crash when game goes live

Lirl

Francesa is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 09:02 PM
  #492
Francesa
Moderator
(╯°□°)╯︵ SƖ ןɥu ɐǝ
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: Canada
Posts: 191,346
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by XX View Post
I'll take an invite - HariiKarii

Got "in" to a server but still wont let me do the starting scenario or make a game.
Thought you were deadset against the ways of EA and their evil DRM

Francesa is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 09:04 PM
  #493
Francesa
Moderator
(╯°□°)╯︵ SƖ ןɥu ɐǝ
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: Canada
Posts: 191,346
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franck View Post
And now I can't start a city...

This is officially the very last time I ever buy anything associated with EA.
To be honest, EA, like other companies, is going to have an extremely heavy load on their servers when a product like this first comes out. It's common with pretty much every company. Even Windows 8 had its problems and complaints when it first came out.

Francesa is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 09:07 PM
  #494
Franck
Insolent Upstart
 
Franck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gothenburg
Country: Sweden
Posts: 7,936
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcuincle View Post
To be honest, EA, like other companies, is going to have an extremely heavy load on their servers when a product like this first comes out. It's common with pretty much every company. Even Windows 8 had its problems and complaints when it first came out.
Which is why they, like any company that doesn't consist of either cheapskates or morons should have secured extra server space to deal with the launch.

It's pretty obvious that EA don't give a **** though, they just want peoples money.

Franck is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 09:10 PM
  #495
XX
Lots of Try
 
XX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Executionville
Country: United States
Posts: 28,815
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcuincle View Post
Thought you were deadset against the ways of EA and their evil DRM
I have way too much nostalgia for this series to pass on this. I'd like to reward Maxxis for what looks like an awesome game with my money. It's a shame that EA is the evil middle man. If there ever was a series where I'd be open to incremental DLC, it's SimCity. I play the **** out of any city/empire building game I can find. If EA gets around to allowing an offline sandbox mode (even possibly F2P with limited buildings) I think they can right the ship.

EA had to cut staff the day after the PS4 announcement. They need this game to succeed.

XX is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 09:12 PM
  #496
Jack Bourdain
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Jack Bourdain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montréal, QC.
Country: Canada
Posts: 12,163
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by XX View Post
I have way too much nostalgia for this series to pass on this. I'd like to reward Maxxis for what looks like an awesome game with my money. It's a shame that EA is the evil middle man. If there ever was a series where I'd be open to incremental DLC, it's SimCity. I play the **** out of any city/empire building game I can find. If EA gets around to allowing an offline sandbox mode (even possibly F2P with limited buildings) I think they can right the ship.

EA had to cut staff the day after the PS4 announcement. They need this game to succeed.
Hear hear! I gave my money to EA AFTER the launch debacle, that's how much I can't stay away from SimCity.

Jack Bourdain is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 09:15 PM
  #497
XX
Lots of Try
 
XX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Executionville
Country: United States
Posts: 28,815
vCash: 500
I made a NA EAST 1 HF world as an alternate if you cant get into EAST 2, just started, so reach me at 'HaRiiKaRii'

XX is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 09:24 PM
  #498
Sovereign
sic parvis magna
 
Sovereign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Country: Canada
Posts: 9,961
vCash: 500
This is irritating.

Sovereign is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 09:33 PM
  #499
Jack Bourdain
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Jack Bourdain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montréal, QC.
Country: Canada
Posts: 12,163
vCash: 500
About to give up for tonight. Forget joining the HF world, can't even start my own private region without the game crashing.

Jack Bourdain is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 10:00 PM
  #500
Fixed to Ruin
Come wit it now!
 
Fixed to Ruin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,006
vCash: 50
Went into my region. Got disconnected from the server.
#simcityproblems

Fixed to Ruin is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2014 All Rights Reserved.