HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

Sim City

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
03-12-2013, 10:45 PM
  #901
DrFeelgood
Chairman Meow
 
DrFeelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Redwood City, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 18,437
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by XX View Post
Traffic and poor routing is the source of nearly every grievance I have with this game. A one way road system would literally fix everything.
While the routing on either one isn't perfect, a lot of problems people are seeing are introduced by the players as well such as having an intersection directly off of the highway, spamming the city with emergency vehicles (causing traffic and forcing themselves to get stuck in traffic at the same time), spamming high density roads/avenues everywhere and things of that nature. More is not always better in this game when it comes to emergency vehicles.

The only complaint I have so far is the zoning adviser guy mentioned earlier, **** him.

Absolutely agree on one-way roads though, i've been trying to work around it with various experimentations with varying results

DrFeelgood is offline  
Old
03-12-2013, 11:05 PM
  #902
Sovereign
sic parvis magna
 
Sovereign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Country: Canada
Posts: 9,764
vCash: 500
Too many emergency vehicles are a hinderence?

Sovereign is offline  
Old
03-12-2013, 11:19 PM
  #903
WhipNash27
Quattro!!
 
WhipNash27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Westchester, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 15,519
vCash: 500
One issue that's annoying me is that my water table never gets replenished. My water pumping station is running dry pretty much because it never replenishes. I think it's a bug, but it's annoying.

WhipNash27 is offline  
Old
03-12-2013, 11:23 PM
  #904
DrFeelgood
Chairman Meow
 
DrFeelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Redwood City, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 18,437
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhipNash27 View Post
One issue that's annoying me is that my water table never gets replenished. My water pumping station is running dry pretty much because it never replenishes. I think it's a bug, but it's annoying.
Build it either near an ocean/river or build a sewage treatment facility (with the filtration pumps!) and it will replenish the water table. I don't think rain is replenishing it right now (which would be a bug)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IHerb View Post
Too many emergency vehicles are a hinderence?
Emergency vehicles will block traffic when tending to an emergency, which can cause gridlock. If you have, let's say 20 fire trucks and a fire breaks out, when all of the fire trucks (it's stupid, but the game does send ALL of them) respond, you'll end up with a load of trucks causing a huge traffic jam.

DrFeelgood is offline  
Old
03-12-2013, 11:32 PM
  #905
Sovereign
sic parvis magna
 
Sovereign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Country: Canada
Posts: 9,764
vCash: 500
Fair point.

My main complaint is the map sizes. Running out of space to place buildings is irritating. I had to wipe out a big patch of industrial hi-tech factories to place my nuclear plant. I feel like the game is forcing you to play....their way I guess, if that makes any sense at all.


Also, will my supply trucks automatically deliver materials to the great work site?

Sovereign is offline  
Old
03-12-2013, 11:38 PM
  #906
DrFeelgood
Chairman Meow
 
DrFeelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Redwood City, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 18,437
vCash: 500
When paying closer attention to the population details page, rather than the zoning adviser, i've found myself concentrating more on population density rather than expanding. Don't be afraid to demolish some residential area to make room for large project either, remember that you can build certain wealth people in other cities and they will commute to yours (once you've set up a regional connection with bus/train/ferry), use it to your advantage. The same goes the other way around as well, you can build industrial in other cities and your workers will commute there, however demolishing high tech stuff really sucks.

Don't know about the great works question, I haven't built one yet.

DrFeelgood is offline  
Old
03-12-2013, 11:45 PM
  #907
Graveland
HONE YOUR CRAFT
 
Graveland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sunnyvale
Country: United States
Posts: 11,356
vCash: 50
The easist way to play is to ignore the zone advisor and pay attention to unemployment. At least thats what has worked for me so far.

Graveland is offline  
Old
03-13-2013, 12:26 AM
  #908
DrFeelgood
Chairman Meow
 
DrFeelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Redwood City, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 18,437
vCash: 500
If you haven't already, enable the Planning Mode Camera in your gameplay options. Holy crap, i've been wanting to zoom out far for so long.

DrFeelgood is offline  
Old
03-13-2013, 12:57 AM
  #909
Banana Sandwiches
Registered User
 
Banana Sandwiches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Country: United States
Posts: 2,357
vCash: 500
Question for anyone who has Sim City 4 Deluxe. How do you get it to run on Windows 7 without it crashing every hour? It literally crashes at least once an hour or so every time I play it. It's also happened a bunch on my friend's PC too. When I had my old computer that had Windows XP, it ran fine.

Banana Sandwiches is offline  
Old
03-13-2013, 01:36 AM
  #910
yakitate304
Crunch Time
 
yakitate304's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NY
Country: St Lucia
Posts: 13,915
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banana Sandwiches View Post
Question for anyone who has Sim City 4 Deluxe. How do you get it to run on Windows 7 without it crashing every hour? It literally crashes at least once an hour or so every time I play it. It's also happened a bunch on my friend's PC too. When I had my old computer that had Windows XP, it ran fine.
Just googled this and found a few potential fixes.


1. If your game is installed to "Program Files (x86)" directory, uninstall it and reinstall it to the normal "Program Files" directory. Apparently something about the Windows overrides that occur with x86 screws with SimCity 4.

and/or...

2. Right click on the shortcut, and in the "Target" box, add this after "SimCity 4.exe":

-CustomResolution:enabled -r1920x1080x32 -d:software -f -CPUcount:1


Of course, you can change the resolution to whatever you use. The important part is -CPUcount:1 because when the game was made, there weren't dual/quad cores like there are today, and apparently it can be problematic to have multiple cores trying to work on the game. This will make it so only 1 of your cores goes to work on SimCity.



I haven't even booted the game up yet so I can't say if any of this works, but it seems to have helped in these two threads:

http://community.simtropolis.com/top...ultiple-cores/

http://community.simtropolis.com/top...-7-fix-1-step/

yakitate304 is offline  
Old
03-13-2013, 01:51 AM
  #911
Avder
Global Moderator
Is it October yet?
 
Avder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The ANGRY DOME
Country: United States
Posts: 31,567
vCash: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banana Sandwiches View Post
Question for anyone who has Sim City 4 Deluxe. How do you get it to run on Windows 7 without it crashing every hour? It literally crashes at least once an hour or so every time I play it. It's also happened a bunch on my friend's PC too. When I had my old computer that had Windows XP, it ran fine.
Open task manager, find simcity4's process, right click it, select "Set Affinity" and uncheck all but one CPU. Sim City 4 is notorious for being multi-core unfriendly.

If you have a program like Raedeon Pro, you can set it up to automatically set Sim City 4's processor affiniy whenever you run it. Otherwise you will need to open the task manager every time.

That is unless there is a command line parameter in there that does it. I dont know.

Avder is offline  
Old
03-13-2013, 03:51 AM
  #912
XX
... Waiting
 
XX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: 48th State
Country: United States
Posts: 27,333
vCash: 500
I managed to convert my ore/metal town into a gambling town. With the international airport, the brandenburg gate and empire state building, it rains tourists. Casinos print money, and when the global market kicks in, it will pay to have a sustainable source of income.

XX is online now  
Old
03-13-2013, 06:31 AM
  #913
XX
... Waiting
 
XX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: 48th State
Country: United States
Posts: 27,333
vCash: 500
Quote:
In all the fuss and mess of the disastrous SimCity launch, one refrain has been repeated again and again. While legions may be begging for an offline mode, EA representatives have been abundantly clear that this simply isn’t possible. Maxis’ studio head, Lucy Bradshaw, has told both Polygon and Kotaku that they “offload a significant amount of the calculations to our servers”, and that it would take “a significant amount of engineering work from our team to rewrite the game” for single player.

A SimCity developer has got in touch with RPS to tell us that at least the first of these statements is not true. He claimed that the server is not handling calculations for non-social aspects of running the game, and that engineering a single-player mode would require minimal effort.
http://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2013...not-necessary/

For shame, EA

XX is online now  
Old
03-13-2013, 06:52 AM
  #914
XX
... Waiting
 
XX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: 48th State
Country: United States
Posts: 27,333
vCash: 500
But wait, there's more!

Sims are apparently as stupid as games back in the 90s

Quote:
One of the biggest problems people are having with the game is the massive traffic-jams that seem to clog the entire system up. Now, this is responsible for the ineffective coverage of ANY traffic-based services (Fire, Police, Garbage, Medical, Education, Mass-Transit.) There are also a number of smaller complaints that may also be directly related to how Glassbox handles traffic.

"Workers aren't commuting."
"There aren't enough workers, even though I have plenty of population."
"Tourism is broken."
"Emergency services are slow/unresponsive/broken."

The agent system that is used for utilities (power, water, sewage) seems to be identical to the system that handles traffic.

The problem is that, just as power can sometimes take a ridiculously long time to fill the entire map (because the "power agents" just randomly move about with no sense) traffic and workers can do the same thing. Workers leave their homes as "people agents." These agents go to the nearest open job, not caring at all where they worked yesterday. They fill the job, and the next worker goes to the next building and fills that job, and so it goes until all the jobs are "filled." So, when you have all your "worker" sims leaving their houses for work in the morning, they all cluster together like some kind of "tourist pack" until they have all been sucked into "jobs." They don't seem to care if the job is Commercial or Industrial, only that it's a job.

"Scholars" are handled exactly the same way. As are school busses and mass-transit agents. This is why you see the "trains" of busses roaming through your city, and why entire sections of town may never see a school bus, despite having plenty of stops... Once all the busses are full, they return to school and stay there until school is done for the day.

Now, here is where it gets really good... In the evening, when work and school lets out, they all leave and proceed to the absolute closest "open" house. They don't "own" their houses. The "people" you see are actually just mindless agents (much like the utilities agents, as I said earlier) making the whole idea of "being able to follow a 'Sim' through their entire day" utterly POINTLESS!!"

The reason traffic problems cause so many other side-effects, is because EVERYTHING relies on those "people" who are stuck in herds trying to go to whatever closest "slot" they can fill. Casinos go bust because "tourists" are just "shopper agents" from out of town. You MUST put casinos RIGHT next to the entrance to your city if you want them to succeed. Placing street-car stops by the casinos can actually cause more harm than good! Why? Because the "shoppers" will board the streetcar stop (because it's the closest open slot) and be shuttled to a shopping district instead.
http://answers.ea.com/t5/Miscellaneo...737060#U737060[

http://www.***********/r/Games/commen...zen_and_agent/

XX is online now  
Old
03-13-2013, 08:42 AM
  #915
jimmythescot
Registered User
 
jimmythescot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Country: Canada
Posts: 4,334
vCash: 500
Just sent a few friend requests to people who put their name up. I am not a bot.

MrBojangles21

jimmythescot is offline  
Old
03-13-2013, 09:20 AM
  #916
WhipNash27
Quattro!!
 
WhipNash27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Westchester, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 15,519
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by XX View Post
But wait, there's more!

Sims are apparently as stupid as games back in the 90s



http://answers.ea.com/t5/Miscellaneo...737060#U737060[

http://www.***********/r/Games/commen...zen_and_agent/
well that explains a lot. It's amazing how they managed to mess it up so much. EA always manages to put out ridiculously buggy games that take months of patching in order to fix them. I can't remember any recent EA game that wasn't like this. It's like the initial release of their games are the true beta.


In terms of the single player stuff, all they have to do is give a single player mode and it would alleviate a ton of the server stress. Then people who want to play online with the achievements, regional play with friends, and all that stuff can play on the servers


Last edited by WhipNash27: 03-13-2013 at 09:26 AM.
WhipNash27 is offline  
Old
03-13-2013, 09:25 AM
  #917
Francesa
(╯°□°)╯︵ SƖ ןɥu ɐǝ
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 182,979
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhipNash27 View Post
well that explains a lot. It's amazing how they managed to mess it up so much. EA always manages to put out ridiculously buggy games that take months of patching in order to fix them. I can't remember any recent EA game that wasn't like this. It's like the initial release of their games are the true beta.
Do you remember Battlefield 3

They do this every time, it's no s urprise. And every time, they always manage to improve their product just enough through patches that the game becomes playable. BF3 was criticized at the start, but all the patches since have made it largely playable.

Francesa is offline  
Old
03-13-2013, 09:27 AM
  #918
WhipNash27
Quattro!!
 
WhipNash27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Westchester, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 15,519
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcuincle View Post
Do you remember Battlefield 3

They do this every time, it's no s urprise. And every time, they always manage to improve their product just enough through patches that the game becomes playable. BF3 was criticized at the start, but all the patches since have made it largely playable.
I certainly do. BFBC2 was the same way. I can't remember any recent EA release that wasn't ridiculously buggy.

WhipNash27 is offline  
Old
03-13-2013, 09:43 AM
  #919
XX
... Waiting
 
XX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: 48th State
Country: United States
Posts: 27,333
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhipNash27 View Post
well that explains a lot. It's amazing how they managed to mess it up so much. EA always manages to put out ridiculously buggy games that take months of patching in order to fix them. I can't remember any recent EA game that wasn't like this. It's like the initial release of their games are the true beta.
But wait, there's more! It turns out that the basis for SimCity, the RCI model (the three zone types are dependent on one another in an economic circle of life) is total ******** and actually has no real function in the game.

Behold, a 200k profitable city with zero commercial or industrial. The only city in the entire region.



There's also code that inflates the population to give unrealistic pop numbers. The actual amount of sims running around is very, very small.

http://www.***********/r/SimCity/comm...ing_regarding/

XX is online now  
Old
03-13-2013, 09:46 AM
  #920
Francesa
(╯°□°)╯︵ SƖ ןɥu ɐǝ
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 182,979
vCash: 500

Francesa is offline  
Old
03-13-2013, 12:45 PM
  #921
Banana Sandwiches
Registered User
 
Banana Sandwiches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Country: United States
Posts: 2,357
vCash: 500
Thanks guys. I'll give it a go this weekend.

It's one of the few games I can easily spend 10 hours straight playing, especially with mods.

Banana Sandwiches is offline  
Old
03-13-2013, 02:23 PM
  #922
Francesa
(╯°□°)╯︵ SƖ ןɥu ɐǝ
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 182,979
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banana Sandwiches View Post
Thanks guys. I'll give it a go this weekend.

It's one of the few games I can easily spend 10 hours straight playing, especially with mods.
You will be amazed how addictive Sim City 4 is. As I said, Sim City 5 doesn't have that kind of excitement. There's such a thrill from me building a city in 4 that I couldn't get in 5.

Francesa is offline  
Old
03-13-2013, 02:25 PM
  #923
Shrimper
Trick or ruddy treat
 
Shrimper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Essex
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 69,159
vCash: 50
Can you upgrade from Sim City 4 to Sim City 4 Deluxe?

I want to use all the mods but I'm pretty sure they don't work on the bog standard version?

Shrimper is offline  
Old
03-13-2013, 02:40 PM
  #924
D Fresh
Lost Horizons
 
D Fresh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ottawa, ON
Country: Canada
Posts: 11,757
vCash: 50
**** man...
I spent a good 6 hours earlier on a city just to get an unreadable city pop up...
Step your game up.
****.

D Fresh is offline  
Old
03-13-2013, 02:55 PM
  #925
Sined
The AndroidBugler!
 
Sined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6,412
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by XX View Post
But wait, there's more!

Sims are apparently as stupid as games back in the 90s



http://answers.ea.com/t5/Miscellaneo...737060#U737060[

http://www.***********/r/Games/commen...zen_and_agent/
As a developer, I find some of the banter in that EA thread pretty hilarious.
There is nothing in those anecdotal stories that prove what they claim.
Look I'll admit that the agents aren't behaving in the proper manner, but unless you have a degree in CompSci and are majoring in AI, half of the **** being said in that thread is plain wrong.

I mean someone suggested that EA/Maxis look up Dijkstra's path finding algorithm. That is one of the most elementary pathfinding algorithm.

Sined is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2014 All Rights Reserved.