HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > Hockey Fights
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Hockey Fights Discuss and rate hockey fights and fighters of today and from the past. Videos welcome!

What if this happened..

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
06-27-2011, 05:12 PM
  #1
GirouxCouturier
GirouxMVP
 
GirouxCouturier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: British Columbia
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,333
vCash: 500
What if this happened..

what would happen if a team scored a goal but it was a debate and play went on but thirty seconds later a huge brawl happened. They go upstairs and the goal counts but would there be any penalties?

GirouxCouturier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
06-27-2011, 07:41 PM
  #2
No1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver
Country: Canada
Posts: 241
vCash: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by girouxrichards View Post
what would happen if a team scored a goal but it was a debate and play went on but thirty seconds later a huge brawl happened. They go upstairs and the goal counts but would there be any penalties?
Of course there would be penalties.

No1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
06-27-2011, 08:53 PM
  #3
Stecz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 799
vCash: 500
Yes, there would be penalties as the time had expired in the game. This is why I'm in favour of refs always assuming goal if in doubt.

Stecz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
06-29-2011, 09:54 PM
  #4
keslerburrows
Registered User
 
keslerburrows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Vernon, Canada
Country: Canada
Posts: 4,744
vCash: 500

keslerburrows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-03-2011, 10:48 AM
  #5
Bexlyspeed
Registered User
 
Bexlyspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Astoria, Queens, N.Y
Country: United States
Posts: 1,065
vCash: 500
technically no. there should not be any penalties if the goal was found to be a good goal. any time that expired from the puck going in would be placed back on the clock and the game should resume with a center ice face off. the events after the goal would or be erased!

but honestly i have never seen it happen, i have seen goals nullified by an earlier goal that was found to be good

Bexlyspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-03-2011, 02:33 PM
  #6
Skarjak
Registered User
 
Skarjak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto
Country: Canada
Posts: 790
vCash: 500
I believe there would be penalties.

Two years ago, Gonchar scored off the back crossbar in a game against Toronto. Since the puck immediately bounced out, the play did not end. Later, Gonchar took a penalty which should have clearly led to a penalty shot. The refs then took the opportunity to review the play and were told that Gonchar scored by the War room. They ruled that Gonchar's play should not lead to a penalty shot, as goals cannot be simultaneously scored in both nets. However, he was given a two minute penalty.

If the refs interpreted the rules properly, I believe that penalties would still be given in the scenario you propose. Penalty shots are not allowed, however.


Last edited by Skarjak: 07-03-2011 at 07:15 PM.
Skarjak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-03-2011, 04:11 PM
  #7
Sanderson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 4,739
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bexlyspeed View Post
technically no. there should not be any penalties if the goal was found to be a good goal. any time that expired from the puck going in would be placed back on the clock and the game should resume with a center ice face off. the events after the goal would or be erased!

but honestly i have never seen it happen, i have seen goals nullified by an earlier goal that was found to be good
No, see rule 78.

Quote:
...
Any penalties signaled during the period of time between the apparent goal and the next stoppage of play shall be assessed in the normal manner, except when a minor penalty is to be assessed to the team scored upon, and is therefore nullified by the scoring of the goal.
...
If an infraction happens after the first stoppage of play following an apparent goal (infraction after the whistle) by either team, it is assessed and served in the normal manner regardless as to the decision rendered by the Video Goal Judge.

Sanderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-03-2011, 06:39 PM
  #8
BacklundtoBartschi*
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,843
vCash: 500
Fights just before intermissions always happen, and they end up in the box.

BacklundtoBartschi* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-03-2011, 08:46 PM
  #9
Bexlyspeed
Registered User
 
Bexlyspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Astoria, Queens, N.Y
Country: United States
Posts: 1,065
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanderson View Post
No, see rule 78.
I stand corrected, thanks

Bexlyspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-04-2011, 06:23 AM
  #10
stevenest
Rookie User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 10
vCash: 500
I personally don't think there should be any penalties.

stevenest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.