HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > The Rink
The Rink For the not so ready for prime-time players, coaches, referees, and the people that have to live with them. Discuss experiences in local leagues, coaching tips, equipment, and training.

Calling Ref pros: need penalty call help

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
06-12-2011, 02:25 PM
  #1
zetterberg40
Registered User
 
zetterberg40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Michigan
Country: United States
Posts: 21,207
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to zetterberg40
Calling Ref pros: need penalty call help

Situation.

Players A gets a five minute misconduct at 5:00 mark.

Player B gets a minor penalty at 4:50.

Other team scores on the PP.

Does the minor penalty end, making it a 5 on 4 now or does it count against the 5 minute major and both stay in for the continued 5 on 3?

zetterberg40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
06-12-2011, 02:30 PM
  #2
straka91*
 
straka91*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Country: United States
Posts: 2,499
vCash: 500
I think the minor ends. 5's are suppose to go the full time regardless of any scoring, right?

straka91* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
06-12-2011, 02:33 PM
  #3
Heaters not lazt*
 
Heaters not lazt*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,905
vCash: 500
The minor ends. Like the poster above me said, you serve the full 5 minutes regardless of scoring

Heaters not lazt* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
06-12-2011, 04:47 PM
  #4
mbhhofr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Country: United States
Posts: 439
vCash: 500
Minor ends and there's no such thing as a 5 minute misconduct.

mbhhofr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
06-12-2011, 09:03 PM
  #5
leeaf83
Registered User
 
leeaf83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,879
vCash: 500
Send a message via ICQ to leeaf83 Send a message via Yahoo to leeaf83
Quote:
Originally Posted by zetterberg40 View Post
Situation.

Players A gets a five minute misconduct at 5:00 mark.

Player B gets a minor penalty at 4:50.

Other team scores on the PP.

Does the minor penalty end, making it a 5 on 4 now or does it count against the 5 minute major and both stay in for the continued 5 on 3?
are you talking five minute major or ten minute misconduct?

I'm assuming you mean five minute major as a misconduct does not affect man power advantage.

If a team is short handed and gets scored on, the minor penalty with the fewest time remaining gets cancelled. In your scenario, there only is one minor penalty being served so it gets cancelled.

leeaf83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
06-13-2011, 05:49 AM
  #6
Gino 14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Country: United States
Posts: 812
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeaf83 View Post
are you talking five minute major or ten minute misconduct?

I'm assuming you mean five minute major as a misconduct does not affect man power advantage.

If a team is short handed and gets scored on, the minor penalty with the fewest time remaining gets cancelled. In your scenario, there only is one minor penalty being served so it gets cancelled.
If one team has a guy serving a 5 minute major and the other team has a guy serving a 2 minute minor, teams are even strength and no penalties are cancelled in the event of a score regardless of which team scores. Just because one is a minor and one is a major has no effect on this, only the number of men on the ice.

Gino 14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
06-13-2011, 06:06 AM
  #7
Felonious Python
Moderator
Purple Squirrel
 
Felonious Python's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The Hot Seat
Posts: 13,085
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbhhofr View Post
Minor ends and there's no such thing as a 5 minute misconduct.
He's a Wings fan. Such things do exist to their opponents.

Felonious Python is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
06-13-2011, 08:20 AM
  #8
tarheelhockey
Global Moderator
 
tarheelhockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Triangle
Country: United States
Posts: 32,075
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gino 14 View Post
If one team has a guy serving a 5 minute major and the other team has a guy serving a 2 minute minor, teams are even strength and no penalties are cancelled in the event of a score regardless of which team scores. Just because one is a minor and one is a major has no effect on this, only the number of men on the ice.
The assumption is that both penalties are on the same team. Clearly if it is 4-on-4, neither penalty ends.

tarheelhockey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
06-13-2011, 10:32 AM
  #9
Danrik
It is what it is.
 
Danrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Super Surrey, BC
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,862
vCash: 50
I read that wrong too. If Players A and B are on the same team, then yes Player B gets out.

Danrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-02-2011, 10:52 PM
  #10
Gervess
@Gervess
 
Gervess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Country: Canada
Posts: 101
vCash: 500
No one get out, the penalty with less time is canceled but the penalty with less time is the 5 min and the 5 min have to get fully served, so it block the minor penalty to be cancelled

Gervess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-04-2011, 08:26 AM
  #11
ThisIsOilCountry
Registered User
 
ThisIsOilCountry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Country: Canada
Posts: 81
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gervess View Post
No one get out, the penalty with less time is canceled but the penalty with less time is the 5 min and the 5 min have to get fully served, so it block the minor penalty to be cancelled
Sorry, but you're wrong,

Player B is out of the box, because he is serving a minor penalty. Player A will remain penalized regardless how much time is left or how many goals the opposition scores.

ThisIsOilCountry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-04-2011, 09:13 AM
  #12
mbhhofr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Country: United States
Posts: 439
vCash: 500
This should answer all your questions about serving penalties.

http://www.nhl.com/ice/page.htm?id=26555

mbhhofr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-05-2011, 12:48 AM
  #13
Gervess
@Gervess
 
Gervess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Country: Canada
Posts: 101
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThisIsOilCountry View Post
Sorry, but you're wrong,

Player B is out of the box, because he is serving a minor penalty. Player A will remain penalized regardless how much time is left or how many goals the opposition scores.
Yeah sorry, I figure it out after, it's the penalty with less time that is cancelled, if it's not a major...

Gervess is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.