HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Notices

Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

PC audio to TV (no HDMI)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
07-21-2011, 10:02 PM
  #1
Natey
#feelthelove
 
Natey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Habville
Country: Canada
Posts: 51,918
vCash: 500
PC audio to TV (no HDMI)

Anyone know how to do it? My sister bought a "new" computer from Best Buy that doesn't have HDMI output, so its connected to the TV through VGA (it does have a DVI connection, but that doesn't carry audio obviously).

What cord/setup would allow me to set her PC up to play the audio from the PC through her TV (26'' LCD). I tried 3.5mm to R/W cables but I couldn't figure out how to get it to work.

Any help is much appreciated.

Natey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-21-2011, 10:08 PM
  #2
DrFeelgood
Chairman Meow
 
DrFeelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 20,252
vCash: 500
You can get an audio splitter that will split the audio port on your PC into a red/white connection, then you can use those to connect it to a receiver or some speakers themselves.



I've done this before, and it works pretty well. I'm not sure if it would work plugging directly into the red/white on your TV, i've never tried it myself.

DrFeelgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-21-2011, 10:09 PM
  #3
Le Tricolore
Moderator
Boo! BOOOOO!
 
Le Tricolore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 33,552
vCash: 50
The only way you could do it is if the DVI input had a 3.5MM input associated to it on the TV. I've seen some televisions have it, but chances are you would have tried that if it existed.

Otherwise, you could see if there's a DVI to composite/component that may or may not exist, I've never looked, but I'd find it hard to believe it doesn't. From there, plug a Y cable from the computer's soundcard to the L and R audio channels.

Le Tricolore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-21-2011, 10:38 PM
  #4
SniperHF
Mod Supervisor
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 23,642
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFeelgood View Post
I've done this before, and it works pretty well. I'm not sure if it would work plugging directly into the red/white on your TV, i've never tried it myself.
This should work fine. Actually it may have a headphone jack in on the TV so you don't even need it. Just an aux cord like you'd use for an MP3 player in a car.

EDIT: ref Le Tricolore's point.
Most tv's I have used can assign the audio input through the menus. Only the cheaper one's I have used can't do that.

SniperHF is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
07-21-2011, 10:43 PM
  #5
DrFeelgood
Chairman Meow
 
DrFeelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 20,252
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
This should work fine.
I thought so, I just don't like recommending something i've never done myself.

DrFeelgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-21-2011, 11:28 PM
  #6
Natey
#feelthelove
 
Natey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Habville
Country: Canada
Posts: 51,918
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Le Tricolore View Post
The only way you could do it is if the DVI input had a 3.5MM input associated to it on the TV. I've seen some televisions have it, but chances are you would have tried that if it existed.

Otherwise, you could see if there's a DVI to composite/component that may or may not exist, I've never looked, but I'd find it hard to believe it doesn't. From there, plug a Y cable from the computer's soundcard to the L and R audio channels.
Thanks everyone.

Ahh, a Y cable is what I have.

I tried plugging it into the "Digital Audio Out" and the headphone jack, but got nothing from either. What do you mean plug it into the sound card?

Natey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-21-2011, 11:31 PM
  #7
DrFeelgood
Chairman Meow
 
DrFeelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 20,252
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by natey2k4 View Post
What do you mean plug it into the sound card?
On the back of the computer:



Plug it into the green one.

edit: It might be laid out differently on yours, but in almost all cases, the green one is the output.

DrFeelgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-22-2011, 12:34 AM
  #8
SniperHF
Mod Supervisor
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 23,642
vCash: 500
You may need to find out which audio input is associated with the tv's VGA input if you can't assign it in the menu. Check the manual on the tv.

SniperHF is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
07-22-2011, 12:43 AM
  #9
Natey
#feelthelove
 
Natey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Habville
Country: Canada
Posts: 51,918
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
You may need to find out which audio input is associated with the tv's VGA input if you can't assign it in the menu. Check the manual on the tv.
It looks like the only audio input for the PC is a going to be a normal AUX cable. So the Y cable won't work. Thanks for the help, peeps.

Natey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-22-2011, 12:57 AM
  #10
karnige
Real Life FTL
 
karnige's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Country: Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 16,287
vCash: 500
i have a dvi cable and a sound cable that I then plug into my sound card. works perfectly

karnige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-22-2011, 01:24 AM
  #11
Natey
#feelthelove
 
Natey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Habville
Country: Canada
Posts: 51,918
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by karnige View Post
i have a dvi cable and a sound cable that I then plug into my sound card. works perfectly
where do you plug it in on the tv'

Natey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-22-2011, 01:28 AM
  #12
Kestrel
Registered User
 
Kestrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,824
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by natey2k4 View Post
It looks like the only audio input for the PC is a going to be a normal AUX cable. So the Y cable won't work. Thanks for the help, peeps.
What do you mean by an Aux cable? Like a 3.5mm headphone connector? What you need to do is find what sound inputs on the TV are matched with the VGA or DVI input, depending on which you're using.

Kestrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-22-2011, 01:48 AM
  #13
kr580
Registered User
 
kr580's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 1,306
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to kr580
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Get one of those. The 3.5mm plug goes in the headphone jack on the PM and the Red/White RCA go in the back of the TV if it has that input. Usually the VGA input has a set of red/white audio inputs right next to it. I've use my surround system as my PC speakers for years. Same concept where I just have it plugged into my receiver. Works fine.

kr580 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-22-2011, 01:57 AM
  #14
7150
Lockout Season
 
7150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,515
vCash: 500
1/8th inch (headphone) to RCA, and optical are your options depending on what you have available. The digital jacks on TVs are usually outputs, so S/PDIF isn't an option without an amp.

7150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-22-2011, 09:27 AM
  #15
karnige
Real Life FTL
 
karnige's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Country: Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 16,287
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by natey2k4 View Post
where do you plug it in on the tv'
you have the video part which would be the dvi cable. beside the dvi spot should have 2 holes (red and white) that the sound cable kr580 linked would go. the PC part goes to your sound card (where your speakers are plugged in), the red and white go to the TV.

karnige is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2017 All Rights Reserved.