HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Eastern Conference > Metropolitan Division > Carolina Hurricanes
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Notices

Charlotte/NC question. Apologies...

Old
10-04-2011, 10:26 AM
nyrmessier011

vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to nyrmessier011
Charlotte/NC question. Apologies...

I know this will tick off some mods, but coming to HF for years I know of no other place to get some help from good people.

I am ready to make a move out of NYC and Charlotte is likely my destination. I am a finance guy and I'm sick and tired of the job market in NYC--not to mention the politics etc (but that's for another day). I have three years experience (laid off in April), all my securities licenses etc, and still can't find another job. So it's time to be proactive and make a change, and I have always wanted to live in the south, so I am going for it.

I know Raleigh is quite far from Charlotte, but I was hoping some of you could answer some questions and/or provide some color on the city. I am 25 years old and looking into the finance/banking down there. I am well aware the job market sucks everywhere, but Charlotte appears vastly underrated when it comes to work in my field. Living in NYC I've been involved in the bar scene, nightlife etc. While NYC is a different animal for sure, Charlotte was a blast when I visited last weekend. The city is clean, everyone was nice, and the feel was great--lot of younger people to meet in the city center, etc. I want to live in one of the better areas, accessible to all the scenes, and hopefully close to the financial areas to grind out a job. I have done some due diligence and it seems The Wards and uptown is probably my best bet for this. I am going to try as hard as possible to live in one of the most "walkable" areas...