HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

Need a Laptop Under $500

Old
10-04-2011, 07:50 PM
silverfish
Mr. Glass

vCash: 500
Need a Laptop Under $500

Hey everyone...my Dell Inspiron 1525 that I got three years ago is dying a slow and painful death. I am a poor college student looking for a new machine priced under $500 to support me through this school year and beyond until I can afford a machine that will do what I need it to do (aka, when I get a career )

I purchased a Dell Inspiron 15R but they sent me a broken machine and that has turned me off Dell.

It's unfortunate that my budget is so small, but like I said I'm a poor college kid, just looking for a machine that will get me through the school year and for however long into actual life I need it to.

I know I'm not gonna strike a machine of gold for under $500 but I need it to be useable.

I'm looking at Toshiba, Lenovo, Sony, and Acer.

Thanks for any help!

EDIT - Can't find a review anywhere, thoughts on this model?
http://us.toshiba.com/computers/lapt...40/L745D-S4350

Last edited by silverfish: 10-04-2011 at 08:07 PM.
silverfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-04-2011, 09:03 PM
neofury*

Get the Toshiba Sony or Lenovo over the Acer I will say that.

Personal preference would be Toshiba out of those brands especially for a lower end one around 500$

If it's just for school the one you link should do but I feel I should warn you I was looking up laptops for a co-worker and Toshiba has one for around 560$ish at Bestbuy which is a much better laptop in general.

I know you may not be able to afford it though given your circumstance but just figured you should know. It's only about 60$+tax above your budget.

EDIT: Just a quick browse but found this one in your price range. Some other folks might want to comment I didn't do a full check but looks better than the one you linked: